Copycat recipe #2 – Mrs. Fields Cinnamon Sugar Cookies

Mrs. Fields Cinnamon Sugar Cookies

I had so much fun with my first copycat recipe Homemade Strawberry NutriGrain Bars, that I decided to try another. 🙂

This time, I chose Mrs. Fields Cinnamon Sugar Cookies. I don’t know about you, but every time I go to the mall, the first thing I seem to smell when I walk through the entrance doors are the fresh-baked cookies from the Mrs. Fields cookie stand. I love their cinnamon sugar cookies, so I was very pleased when I came across this copycat recipe.

This recipe turned out to be remarkably close in taste to the cookies sold at the cookie stand. The recipe is easy to follow, and everyone probably has all the ingredients already stocked in their pantry. The only thing I did differently, was to chill the dough for about 20 minutes before rolling it into balls. After mixing all the ingredients together, I found the dough to be really soft and almost impossible to roll into balls. Chilling the dough definitely helped make the whole rolling process go a lot smoother. 🙂

~Enjoy~



Mrs. Fields Cinnamon Sugar Cookies (copycat recipe)

Topping:
3 tablespoons white sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

Cookies:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup salted butter, softened
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon for topping. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, soda and salt. Mix well with wire whisk and set aside.

In a large bowl, blend sugars with an electric mixer set at medium speed. Add the butter, and mix to form a grainy paste. Scrape sidesof bowl, then add the eggs and vanilla extract. Mix at medium speed until light and fluffy.

Add the flour mixture and blend at low speed just until combined. Do not over mix. Shape dough into 1-inch balls and roll each ball in cinnamon-sugar topping.

Place onto ungreased cookie sheets, 2 inches apart. Bake for 18-20 minutes. Immediately transfer cookies with a spatula to a cool, flat surface.

Yield: 3 dozen




Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

21 Responses

  1. […] the original post:  Copycat recipe #2 – Mrs. Fields Cinnamon Sugar Cookies « At Home … Tags: alaska, apple, apple-butter, at-home-in-alaska, baking, cinnamon, copycat, copyright, […]

  2. The looks yummieeeeeeeeeeee 🙂
    Many greetings
    Anya (@^.^@)

  3. I love Mrs. Fields! These look so yummy!!

  4. Yummy yum yum! I love cookies, these look so good!

  5. These certainly sound terrific and definitely have me craving them so like now! Nicely done!

  6. Chilling the dough will definitely help create thicker, chewier cookies, that hold their shape better, more like those irresistible cookies at the Mall!

    Mrs. Fields is the only woman I know who suggests baking cookies at 300 degrees, but it’s hard to argue with success.

    These are on my must try list.

    Thanks!

  7. These look incredibly delish! I must try these soon ;o)

    Maria
    x

  8. […] Home in Alaska did another copycat recipe this week, Mrs. Fields Cinnamon Sugar Cookies. I don’t think I’ve seen such perfectly round cookies with that delicious brown color […]

  9. delicious!I will definitely try this recipe.Hmm i can smell the cinnamon now yummy!

  10. Cookies with cinnamon! Your kitchen must smell so good while they are baking. I must bake a batch of these. Yummy!

  11. Im going to try this recipe but Im adding 1 cup of dried diced apples. MMMMM I will liet you know how they turn out!

  12. […] Mrs. Fields cinnamon sugar cookies, twice removed. A friend of mine sent me a copycat recipe she found, knowing it would be easy to veganize. Sure was. I’ve never had the original […]

  13. I just made them, and OMG-sooooo good! I’m in the UK right now for university and they don’t have Mrs. Fields (at least I haven’t found one), so these completely satisfied my craving.

    I made them smaller than in your picture, like nibbler size, so there was more to go around for my flatmates!!!!

  14. Love this recipe. The last batch is in the oven and they are divine!! Thank you.

  15. […] made a batch of cinnamon cookies today based on this cookie recipe which is supposed to be a copycat of Mrs. Fields' cinnamon cookies. I love how it tastes haha. I added more cinnamon though.  Because I find our cinnamon powder a […]

  16. Hi!

    I’m an editor with an online publishing company and we would like to link to this recipe in an upcoming eCookbook. Can you please email me at your earliest convenience?

    Thanks!

  17. […] some cookies, specifically this copy-cat recipe for Mrs. Field’s Sugar cookies…SO GOOD.  Made them to take to a co-worker get-together tonight…can’t […]

  18. Thanks for posting this recipe. We tried it out yesterday. Yum! I think we each ate 5 cookies straight out of the oven. I posted the results on my blog (www.donachyblog.wordpress.com) and of course, linked back here for the source. Thanks again!

    • I’m so glad you liked the cookies!! I love the photo of your cookies that you posted on your blog. They look so yummy!!
      Thank you so much for the link back! 🙂

  19. […] adapted from At Home in Alaska. Share this:PinterestTwitterFacebookLinkedInEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  20. The cookies are delicious and I notice you have them on a Heartland plate. I have the same dishes but unfortunately broke 2 b&b plates. Do you know where we can get more I love my set and would love to keep it intact. Many thanks. Shirley.

Leave a comment