Homemade Strawberry NutriGrain Bars

Homemade Strawberry NutriGrain Bars

Have you ever seen copy-cat recipes and wondered if they actually taste like the real thing? Well, I know I have… but until today, I’ve never attempted to make any of these recipes.

I sure am glad I tried making these homemade nutrigrain bars. They taste remarkably like the ones you can purchase at the grocery store.

I used reduced-sugar strawberry jam in my bars, but you can use any flavor you desire.

~Enjoy~



Homemade Strawberry NutriGrain Bars

1 (18.25 ounce) package yellow cake mix
2 1/2 cups quick oats
3/4 cup butter, melted
12 ounces preserves or jam
1 tablespoon water

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan.

In a large bowl, combine cake mix and oats. Stir in melted butter until the mixture is crumbly.

Measure half of the mixture (approx. 3 cups) into prepared pan. Press firmly into pan to cover bottom.

Combine preserves/jam and water. Spoon over crumb mixture in pan; spread evenly.

Cover jam with remaining crumb mixture. Pat firmly to make top even.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until top is very light brown.

Cool completely before cutting into bars.


Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

9 Responses

  1. Wow! Very interesting – yours looks way more appetizing than the store bought ones for sure!

  2. I’ve only ever tried a copy cat recipe for Kentucky Fried Chicken coating/batter which is actually quite nice & similar to the real thing. These look lovely !

  3. Hmmmm… looks like that would make a good thing to tuck into my lunch for work. Especially for that mid-morning treat with coffee.

  4. Mmmm, this looks great, and so pretty!

  5. Those sound very good and very easy as well as much cheaper than the store bought ones. Great recipe as usual!

  6. This recipe sounds really easy. I’m so surprised there are so few ingredients! My to-bake list keeps getting longer and longer.

  7. […] absolutely love copycat recipes, and this strawberry NutriGrain recipe from At Home in Alaska is the perfect treat. The ingredient list makes me smile, too – […]

  8. […] had so much fun with my first copycat recipe Homemade Strawberry NutriGrain Bars, that I decided to try […]

  9. Sounds good and I can use sugar free jams/preserves since I am diabetic ~patty

Leave a comment