Banana Cobbler

So…what do you do with ripe bananas instead of making banana bread?? Why you make Banana Cobbler of course. 🙂 I know it may sound a little unusual and may not be the first thing that comes to mind when you think of a cobbler, but it really is quite delicious.

Here’s a picture of the cobbler before heading into the oven:

And here it is after baking for 45 mintues:

Pretty as a picture on my plate, dusted with a little powdered sugar:

~Enjoy~

Banana Cobbler

1/2 cup (1 stick) melted butter or margarine
1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 medium sliced bananas

Pour melted butter into an 8-inch baking dish. Mix the next five ingredients in a bowl. Pour mixture over melted butter or margarine. (melted butter will rise to the top)
Slice bananas and drop into batter. Bake 45 minutes at 350 degrees until top is brown. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar or powdered sugar. (if desired)

9 Responses

  1. I really want to try this recipe but is it supposed to be 1 tablespoon of baking powder? Seems like a lot to use, did you you mean 1 teaspoon?

    • It is supposed to be 1 tablespoon of baking powder, Farhana. I know it sounds like a lot, but that is the amount that worked best in this recipe – to get the right volume and texture.
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog!

      • Thank you so much for getting back to me! I baked this today and it’s delicious!

        This is an amazing recipe, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. I’m so very glad that you enjoyed it, Farhana!!! 🙂

  3. This is really an easy, quick dessert that I made and everyone is buggin me to make it again. And in 10 mins, i will be. lol Thanks. Next time at the store im gonna get chocolate chips and try a few on top, topped with fresh strawberries and make a banana split out of it! Thanks

    • I’m so glad everyone enjoyed the banana cobbler, Laura! Your banana split idea sounds really delicious!! I’ll have to try it the next time I make this for my family. 🙂

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment!!

  4. This looks so good!! Love bananas and have never eaten them as a cobbler!!

  5. My bananas never seem to get engulfed with the rise, but instead end up on top, browning unpleasantly. Is it because I use whole wheat flour?

    • The type of flour used could have something to do with the problem you are having with the bananas, Karolina. I don’t use whole wheat flour, but I’ve read that whole wheat flour will make baked goods denser and heavier than those baked with all-purpose flour.
      Here’s a link to a site that offers some Baking Flour Facts that might be helpful: http://recipes.howstuffworks.com/tools-and-techniques/baking-flour-facts.htm.
      I hope this helps! Thank you for posting your question, and thank you very much for visiting my blog!

Leave a comment