Apple Butter Banana Bread

Apple Butter Banana Bread

When I was just a little girl, I used to really enjoy eating apple butter sandwiches. For those who may be unfamiliar with apple butter, Wikipedia states that “Apple butter is a highly concentrated form of apple sauce, produced by long, slow cooking of apples with cider or water to a point where the sugar in the apples caramelizes, turning the apple butter a deep brown.” It’s delicious spread on a plain slice of bread or buttered toast.

Now, I haven’t had apple butter in a very long time, but the other day I was in the grocery store and noticed a jar of Smucker’s Cider Apple Butter on the shelf. Boy did it bring back memories. I added the jar to my grocery cart and headed to the checkout line. When I returned home, I put all the groceries away…except for my apple butter. I opened the jar and spread a fair amount onto a slice of bread. Oh boy did it taste just the way I remembered. The familiar taste of apples, cinnamon and other spices was so wonderful all wrapped up in my piece of bread. I savored that sandwich for quite a while. 🙂

So imagine my surprise when I found an Apple Butter Banana Bread recipe while browsing through one of my favorite recipe sites, Better Homes and Gardens. I had some bananas in my kitchen that needed to be used, I already had my jar of apple butter, and the recipe sounded easy enough, so I thought “why not?”.

This bread not only smelled delicious while it was baking, but it turned out looking beautiful and tastes fantastic!! The only modification I made to the recipe, was to add about 2 ounces of chopped walnuts to the batter… because I love walnuts in banana bread. 🙂

~Enjoy~




Apple Butter Banana Bread (recipe from Better Homes & Gardens website)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 slightly beaten eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup mashed ripe banana (2 small)
1/2 cup apple butter
1/4 cup canola or cooking oil

Grease and flour the bottom and 1/2 inch up the sides of a 9x5x3-inch loaf pan; set aside. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and nutmeg. Make a well in center of the flour mixture; set aside.

In a medium bowl combine eggs, sugar, banana, apple butter, and oil. Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy). Spoon batter into prepared pan.

Bake in a 350 degree oven about 45 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan. Cool completely on a wire rack. Wrap and store overnight before slicing. Makes: 1 loaf (16 servings)





Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

9 Responses

  1. I’ve never tried apple butter before, but it sounds delicious 😉

  2. Oh yeah for the apple butter. It is so good. I had a recipe for pumpkin apple butter pie and it was a big hit. The flavors and spices just blended so well. Have you ever tried to make apple butter?
    Happy Twrils

  3. Lynda – It really is delicious. I hope you get a chance to try it some day. 🙂

    Libby – I’ve never tried to make apple butter. I have seen recipes for it, so perhaps I’ll give it a try one day. Pumpkin apple butter pie sounds wonderful. I’d love to try making that too. 🙂

  4. This looks delicious! The perfect accompaniment to a cup of tea!

  5. That looks yummieeeeeeeeeeee…
    And I can read the recept :))
    I go try to make it 😉
    Have a nice weekend (@^.^@)

  6. You know, it seems like every Christmas we end up recieving a jar of apple butter, and I’m never able to use it all up before it’s bad. I am definitely going to remember this one!

  7. I was one of those weird kids that didn’t like grape jelly and strawberry jam was too expensive so we had apple butter and I have always loved it. I don’t find myself buying it much any more but if it is offered at a home style restaurant, I definitely choose it over everything else.

  8. I love the sounds of this bread. I love baking with bananas what an ingenoius way to make it with aplpe butter. I have got to try this!

  9. I made this recipe yesterday with one change. I sprinkled chopped walnuts and some brown raw sugar on top. It is so yummy. I will share this recipe with my friends and make it again.

Leave a Reply

