Skillet Snickerdoodle Cookie

Skillet Snickerdoodle Cookie

Skillet Snickerdoodle Cookie

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting very many recipes or photos the past couple of weeks. One of my little birds is flying the nest and moving out of state this weekend, so I’ve been helping her prepare for the move.

It’s going to be so hard to see her go, but I know that, even though I very much want to, I can’t keep her here with me forever. I sure am going to miss her though…

I couldn’t think of a better comfort food to help ease some of the sadness of seeing my little bird go, then this Skillet Snickerdoodle Cookie. The aroma of the cinnamon & sugar baking in the oven did help lift my spirits a bit, and when I removed the giant cookie from the oven, it looked so yummy that I wanted to dive right in and help myself to a piece… but I decided it might be best if I wait until it cools a bit. 😉

~Enjoy~




Skillet Snickerdoodle Cookie

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla butter & nut flavoring (or vanilla extract)
2 tablespoons granulated sugar mixed with 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions:
In a medium bowl, combine flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add eggs and flavoring and mix until smooth. Gradually add dry ingredients to butter mixture, and mix until well combined. Chill dough for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Rub a 12-inch cast iron skillet with a small amount of butter.
Sprinkle 1 teaspoon of cinnamon sugar mixture over the bottom of the skillet. Place cookie dough in skillet and pat the dough evenly until it completely covers the bottom of the skillet.

Snickerdoodle Batter

Snickerdoodle Batter

Sprinkle the remaining cinnamon sugar evenly over the cookie dough.

Cinnamon Sugar Topping

Cinnamon Sugar Topping

Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until golden brown. Carefully remove skillet from oven and place on a wire rack. Cool for at least 20 minutes. Slice into wedges and serve.

6 Responses

  1. Oh wow does this look good! It’s definitely going on my “to bake” list 🙂

  2. Although it’s getting close to bed time here, these cookies would make a great midnight snack. My mother used to make snickerdoodle cookies, and she would have loved this recipe.

  3. How absolutely wonderful! A cookie baked in an iron skillet! I have always loved cookie bars because I could bake them all at one time then cut them into serving size. Now I’ll get my iron skillet out & give this a try! Thanks!

Leave a comment