Chocolate Yogurt Cake

When you think of chocolate cake, you don’t necessarily think of yogurt; yet yogurt is the key ingredient that makes this cake so rich and moist.

~Enjoy~

Chocolate Yogurt Cake

2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cups baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup Lucerne Best of the Egg Whites-100% liquid egg whites, or other egg white substitute
1 1/2 cups plain fat-free yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9-inch bundt pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and baking powder. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Beat in egg substitute.

Alternately add flour mixture and yogurt into butter mixture. Do not over mix. Stir in vanilla.

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 45 to 55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Cool for 10 minutes and then invert onto rack to cool completely.

Drizzle with Vanilla Glaze, if desired.

Vanilla Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon butter or margarine, softened
1 tablespoons fat-free milk
1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Combine all ingredients and beat until smooth.

8 Responses

  1. It looks delicious! You are so right about the yogurt making it moist, I use that or some sour cream in my baked goods.

  2. Yum! This looks so tasty.

  3. Sounds so yummy! I will have to try this one!

  4. Great looking cake. I am definitely going to try this one.
    DCRose

  5. That looks yummy!

  6. I love chocolate in any way, shape or form but especially in cake. Your recipes are always great!

    AK Mom! Stop by my blog as I have a surprise for you that I think you deserve.

  7. I made this cake tonight and it is suberb! I didn’t have enough butter, so I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup light olive oil. I made a chocolate glaze by adding a couple tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa to your vanilla glaze recipe. This will be my go to chocolate cake from now on. Thank you for posting this recipe!!

    • Thank you so much for leaving a comment and letting me know how the cake turned out Michele! I’m so glad you enjoyed it!! 🙂

Leave a comment