Milk Chocolate Cinnamon Cookie Bars

Milk Chocolate Cinnamon Cookie Bars

Milk Chocolate Cinnamon Cookie Bars

Oh dear, I’m starting to feel my stress level begin to rise. You see, silly me, I volunteered to make the cakes for a wedding reception on Thursday – which is only five days away. I’ll be making both a groom’s cake and the bride’s cake. Now I’ve baked plenty of cakes throughout the years, but I’ve never made a wedding cake before. I’m just hoping beyond hope that I haven’t bit off more than I can chew, and the cakes turn out okay. I don’t want to ruin the bride and groom’s big day.

One thing I know for sure I can’t ruin, are these Milk Chocolate Cinnamon Cookie Bars. I’ve been pretty busy lately and I haven’t really had time to bake, but I was watching t.v. one day and a commercial for Papa John’s Pizza came on the screen. Papa John’s was advertising their new mega chocolate chip cookie, and suddenly I had craving for chocolate chip cookies. Instead of dialing my local Papa John’s Pizzeria though, I headed into the kitchen and whipped up a batch of these wonderful cookie bars.

This recipe produces an incredibly moist and chewy bar, and the cinnamon flavor pairs so beautifully with the milk chocolate. Oh, and did I mention they are a cinch to make. You only need a couple of bowls and a wooden spoon to mix the ingredients together. No electric mixer required. It’s easy-peasy!

Now, if only wedding cakes could be that simple to make…

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

~Enjoy~
blog sig



Milk Chocolate Cinnamon Cookie Bars

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1 1/4 cups milk chocolate chips, divided

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8-inch square baking pan with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat together the brown sugar and oil with a wooden spoon until well combined. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Add the flour mixture a little at a time, stirring until well combined. Fold in 1 cup of the milk chocolate chips.

Spread the batter evenly into the prepared baking pan. Sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup milk chocolate chips over top of batter.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove from oven and place pan on a wire rack to cool. Cut into bars.

Makes about 12 cookie bars.

7 Responses

  1. The bars sound delicious, and I’m confident the wedding cakes will be delicious also.

  2. Uh-oh! Just getting married and separate cakes already? I wish them well.
    And your cookie recipe put five pounds on me when I just looked at the picture for a few seconds. Looks yummy!

    • Lol. I believe having a groom’s cake is a wedding tradition in the American South. I’m not sure how often that tradition is observed here in Alaska, but it’s what the bride and groom wanted. 🙂

  3. Just found your blog and your recipes. This one sounds so good, going to check out some more. I do wedding cakes too. Hope yours turned out well.

  4. […] my last blog post, I mentioned that I volunteered to make both a bride’s and a groom’s cake for a wedding […]

  5. I am sure that I would love these.

Leave a Reply

