Mango Upside Down Cake

Mango Upside Down Cake

Mango Upside Down Cake

I think Spring must have taken a wrong turn somewhere. We still have about a foot of snow piled up outside, and our temperatures have only been in the high 20’s to low 30’s. So if anyone sees Spring, and it looks confused and doesn’t seem to know where it should be heading next, could you please direct it to Alaska? 🙂

Since Spring seems to be taking the scenic route up to our neck of the woods, I’m just going to sit back, close my eyes, and envision I’m in a warmer climate while munching on a piece of this Mango Upside Down Cake. Every bite of this delicious cake makes me feel like I’ve been transported to an island in the tropics – as long as I don’t open my eyes and look out my window.

~Enjoy~
blog sig



Mango Upside Down Cake

3 tablespoons butter, melted
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
1 (10 ounce) package frozen mango chunks
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup granulated sugar
5 tablespoons butter, softened
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8-inch square baking pan with parchment paper. Spray the parchment paper with non-stick cooking spray.

Place mango chunks in a colander and rinse under cold water; drain.

In a small bowl, combine the 3 tbsp. melted butter and brown sugar. Pour over parchment paper in baking dish. Arrange mango chunks over brown sugar mixture. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream the 5 tbsp. softened butter and granulated sugar together until creamy. Add egg, milk, and vanilla; mix until smooth. Gradually add in dry ingredients and mix until combined. Smooth batter over mango chunks.

Bake for 35 – 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Place pan on a wire rack and let cool for 10 minutes. Run a knife around the edge of the cake and invert onto serving plate. Peel off parchment paper. Let cake cool a bit longer, then cut into squares and serve.

(To print this recipe, click on the ‘Print & PDF’ button below)

10 Responses

  1. I love mangoes, and this looks absolutely delicious. I think Spring has left the mountains of Tennessee and sent winter back to us. I hope Spring is headed your way, but I do wish she would come back here.

  2. That cake looks absolutely amazing! I have never tried Mango in cake before so this is going on my list to make for a dessert this summer!

  3. We have had several visits from Spring, but so far she hasn’t stayed long. And we still keep a wood fire burning.

    That cake looks sooooo good!

    • Seems Spring is being very elusive in many parts of the country this year. I sure hope it decides to settle down and stay a while. 🙂

  4. This looks like my kind of recipe! Thanks.

  5. Hello!
    I just wanted to let you know that I added a link to your blog on the Alaska Blog Network. I created the Alaska Blog Network as an online community to connect bloggers from all across the state. If you’d rather your blog not be included on the site, I can remove the link, just let me know.
    Thanks,
    Whitney
    Alaska Blog Network 

    • What a wonderful idea! I’m thrilled that you added a link to my blog on the Alaska Blog Network!! Thank you so much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

