Strawberry Chocolate Chip Bars

Strawberry Chocolate Chip Bars

Strawberry Chocolate Chip Bars

Wow! Has it really been two weeks since I wrote my last blog post? I’ve been so busy lately, that time just flew right by. In fact, I was so busy that I didn’t even have time to bake anything for Valentine’s Day. I was bound and determined to bake something tasty for this weekend though, and I believe I succeeded in the “tasty” department with these Strawberry Chocolate Chip Bars.

My inspiration for these bars came from a limited edition box of Chocolatey Strawberry Special K Cereal that I recently purchased from my local grocery store. Strawberry and chocolate are a match made in heaven, and I fell in love with this cereal from the very first bite.

When I started thinking about what I wanted to bake for dessert this weekend, the first thing that popped into my head was that I had to make something with chocolate and strawberries. These Strawberry Chocolate Chip Bars are exactly what my sweet tooth and taste buds were looking for. The crust is crisp, the strawberry filling is gooey, and the crumb topping with the chocolate chips is rich and sweet.

It’s just a shame that I didn’t get to make these for Valentine’s Day, but you know what they say – better late than never.

~Enjoy~
blog sig



Strawberry Chocolate Chip Bars

Crust:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup butter

Filling:
3/4 cup strawberry jam

Topping:
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
6 tablespoons butter
1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a 9-inch square baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.

For the Crust: In a medium bowl, combine the flour and granulated sugar. Cut in butter with a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Press the crumb mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan.

Bake for 18 to 22 minutes, or until crust is set but not brown. Remove from oven and spread jam evenly over hot crust.

For the Topping: In a medium bowl, combine flour and brown sugar. Cut in butter with pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle over jam layer.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Remove from oven and sprinkle chocolate chips on top. Place back in oven for 30 seconds, or until chocolate chips begin to soften and look glossy.

Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool completely. Cut into squares.

(To print this recipe, click on the ‘Print & PDF’ button below)

9 Responses

  1. Must try this one —looks absolutely fabulous!

  2. I kept meaning to mention that I’ve made the Dutch apple pie recipe (from a previous post) several times and really like it! Thanks.

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for letting me know how it turned out for you. I always enjoy reading comments & reviews about the recipes, good or bad. 🙂

  3. Chocolate chips and strawberry jam.., two of my favorite foods! This looks so delicious 🙂

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

  4. I would not think to put these together but you make it look amazing!

  5. Strawberries and chocolate are a perfect combination.

Leave a Reply

