Gingerbread Pudding Poke Cake

Gingerbread Pudding Poke Cake

Gingerbread Pudding Poke Cake

We’ve been having beautiful Fall weather for the past week or so, with clear blue skies and bright sunshine. The temperature could be a little warmer, it’s only 13 degrees out right now, but since there is no snow on the ground, I guess I shouldn’t complain too much.

One of the things I really enjoy about this time of year, is all the new seasonal baking items that show up in the grocery stores – like pumpkin spice flavored coffee, and seasonal pudding mix flavors such as pumpkin spice and gingerbread. I’ve been lucky enough to find the pumpkin spice flavored pudding mix in the stores here over the last couple of years, and have used it to make some wonderful desserts like these Pumpkin Spice Tartlets and these Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Spice Brownies, but this is the first year that I’ve been able to locate the gingerbread flavor. Unfortunately, there were only two boxes of gingerbread pudding mix left on the grocery store shelf by the time I got to them, but at least I got some.

I decided to use the first of my two boxes of gingerbread flavored pudding mix in this Gingerbread Pudding Poke Cake. I wanted to make something that would really put the gingerbread flavor at the forefront. (I wanted the flavor to standout and not get lost among other flavors)

I started by making a simple vanilla cake from scratch, and then I poked holes throughout the baked cake and poured the gingerbread pudding into the holes and over the cake to “frost” it. The cake turned out absolutely delicious, and the gingerbread pudding is awesome. I just hope the grocery stores here will get some more of the pudding in stock, so I can add some more boxes to my pantry.

Now, what should I do with my second box of pudding??

~Enjoy~




Gingerbread Pudding Poke Cake

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1 (3.4 ounce) package gingerbread instant pudding mix
2 cups cold milk

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and lightly flour one 9-inch square baking pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add vanilla and egg; beat until well combined. Add dry ingredients and 3/4 cup milk alternately to butter mixture, beating on low speed after each addition just until combined. Pour batter into the prepared baking pan.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove cake from oven and poke holes at once down through cake to pan with round handle of wooden spoon. (Holes should be at 1-inch intervals)

After the holes are made, combine pudding mix and the 2 cups of milk in a large bowl. Beat with a wire whisk for 1 minute. Quickly, before pudding thickens, pour about half of the thin pudding evenly over warm cake and into holes. (This will make stripes in cake). Allow remaining pudding to thicken slightly; then spoon over the top to “frost” the cake.

Chill cake in refrigerator for at least 1 hour before serving. Store any leftover cake in refrigerator.

Makes: 9 servings

4 Responses

  1. I have never seen the gingerbread pudding mix. This sounds delicious! I love pudding in a recipe : )

    • I had heard about it, but this is the first time I’ve found the gingerbread flavor in the stores here. It tastes delicious too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

