Caramel Apple Cookies

Caramel Apple Cookies

Caramel Apple Cookies

Autumn is in full swing here in Alaska and now that the storms have passed, I’m continuing my Fall baking with these incredibly flavorful and very yummy Caramel Apple Cookies.

I hate to admit it, but sometimes I can be a bit lazy when it comes to baking. I really wanted to make a caramel apple cookie, but I didn’t want to use those individually wrapped Kraft caramels, because I didn’t want to mess with unwrapping them. Yes, I know… that is pretty lazy, because those caramels are not that difficult to unwrap. Anyway, I took a trip to the grocery store and started browsing through the baking and candy aisles to see if there was something else I could use. That’s when I stumbled upon a package of Hershey’s Rolo Minis. I couldn’t see through the bag, so I couldn’t tell how big the candies were. They did have a picture of a caramel candy on the front of the bag that stated “actual size”, but I’ve learned from experience that those pictures are not always accurate. I decided to test my luck though, and I purchased a bag anyway.

When I got home and opened the bag, my first thought was that the candy might be a tad too big to use in the cookies, but I decided to mix them into the batter anyway. After they finished baking, I was thrilled to see that the cookies turned out great! The caramels melted a bit, but held their shape pretty well. The cookies were soft, and the chocolate caramel flavor paired beautifully with the apple. The graham cracker crumbs also added a delightful texture and taste.

These cookies are the perfect treat to enjoy on a Autumn day. I better enjoy them quickly though because, even though we’re only one week into the Autumn season, I can tell that it won’t be long before snow arrives, and then it will start looking more like Winter than Autumn around here. In fact, the weather forecast is calling for a mix of rain & snow to fall this weekend. If the wind doesn’t howl and the rain doesn’t cause any more flooding, I guess I’m okay with a bit of snow falling – as long as it doesn’t accumulate.

~Enjoy~




Caramel Apple Cookies

2 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon apple pie spice
1 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 small granny smith apples
1 (8 oz) package Hershey’s Rolo Minis

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder, salt, and apple pie spice. Set aside.

In a large bowl cream butter and sugars together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract. Gradually add dry ingredients and mix well. Peel, core, and dice apples into small pieces. Fold apples and Rolo Minis into dough.

Drop batter by rounded tablespoonfuls, 2 inches apart, onto prepared cookie sheets.
Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until lightly browned. Remove to wire racks to cool.

Makes approximately 4 dozen cookies

13 Responses

  1. This is a wonderful recipe. I love the apple pie spice, graham crackers, granny smith apples, and rolo candies; wow!

    • Thanks! Some of the ingredients may sound like they don’t belong in a cookie, but combine them all together and it works. 🙂

  2. That looks so good. Just bought graham crackers for another recipe and have half left. Was wondering what to do with the rest of the package. Yay.

  3. Oh my… This looks like a must-save!

  4. This looks like the perfect autumn cookie. I am filing it away for future use. Thanks AKMom!

  5. I saw a recipe similar to this on Pinterest and wanted to try it. They look pretty tasty!

    I hate unwrapped those caramels too because it’s such a sticky chore. If you can find them, I think Kraft makes little caramel baking chips. At least I think it’s Kraft. I’ve used them before and they’re amazing for baking!

    • I don’t think I’ve seen those caramel baking chips in the grocery stores around here, but i’ll definitely keep an eye out for them. Thanks for the tip!! 🙂

  6. These look so good. I had a question: I would like to bring these to my mom’s house for Thanksgiving. There are a lot of people there who can’t have wheat, so I was wondering how do I change this recipe to make it gluten free?

Leave a Reply

