Chocolate Chip Toffee Blondies

Chocolate Chip Toffee Blondies

Chocolate Chip Toffee Blondies

I know, by now you’re probably wondering – when the heck is she going to get to the end of her stockpile of toffee bits? I seem to be putting them in just about everything I’ve baked lately. What can I say… I love toffee bits! They taste so good in so many things, and they’re especially delicious in these Chocolate Chip Toffee Blondies.

Blondies are very similar to brownies, except that they are flavored with brown sugar instead of chocolate. They are very sweet, chewy, and just plain yummy. You can add just about anything to Blondies to dress them up a bit. Many of the Blondie recipes you’ll find in cookbooks or online will include walnuts, which helps add texture and crunch, but for this recipe I decided to add toffee bits to achieve that same result.

I have just about used all the toffee bits that I had stored in my freezer. I have just shy of a half a cup left, so I don’t think I’ll be using the rest in anything anytime soon, but you never know… 🙂

~Enjoy~




Chocolate Chip Toffee Blondies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup chocolate chips, divided
3/4 cup toffee bits, divided

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 8-inch square baking pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In a large bowl, beat butter and brown sugar until creamy. Add egg and vanilla extract; mix until combined. Gradually stir in dry ingredients until well blended. Fold in 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of the toffee bits.

Spread the batter evenly into prepared baking pan. Sprinkle remaining 1/4 cup of the chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of the toffee bits on top of the batter.

Chocolate Chip Toffee Blondies

Chocolate Chip Toffee Blondies

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until top is golden brown and a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars.

4 Responses

  1. Sounds great! I love those toffee bits – I even sprinkle them on vanilla ice cream. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this super recipe. AK Mom. 😉

    • Thanks, Mom!! I think I’ll have to run to the store today and pick up some vanilla ice cream. Sounds like a wonderful way to use up the remaining 1/2 cup of toffee bits that I have left. 🙂

  2. I’ve nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger award. Enjoy! 🙂 http://afternoonpopcornsnack.com/2012/06/17/award-nominations/

    • Thank you so very much for nominating me for the Kreativ Blogger award! I’m so honored! 🙂

Leave a Reply

