Fudgy Mocha Toffee Brownies

Fudgy Mocha Toffee Brownies

Fudgy Mocha Toffee Brownies

Anytime I can combine two ingredients I love – coffee and chocolate – into one recipe, I know the result is going to be a winner. This recipe proved just that. There’s just something about the flavor of mocha that I absolutely love. In fact, my go-to coffeehouse drink is a tall, skinny mocha. These brownies have that same coffeehouse mocha taste, except in brownie form.

Now, I can honestly say that I’ve never met a brownie that I didn’t like, but my absolute favorite type of brownie is a rich, chewy, fudgy brownie. This recipe created that exact type of brownie. The brownie itself has a wonderfully moist texture, but I also wanted the brownies to have a bit of a crunch, so I topped them off with a sprinkling of toffee bits. They turned out so yummy!!

A brownie was the first thing I reached for when I got home from work today, and I’m desperately trying to resist the urge to grab another. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

~Enjoy~




Fudgy Mocha Toffee Brownies

2 tablespoons instant coffee granules
1/4 cup hot water
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1/4 cup toffee bits

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9-inch square baking pan.

In a small bowl or measuring cup, combine coffee granules and 1/4 cup hot water. Stir until the coffee granules dissolve.

In a small microwave-safe bowl, combine butter and semisweet chocolate chips. Microwave for approximately 30-40 seconds, or until butter melts; stir until chocolate is smooth.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. Add coffee mixture, melted chocolate mixture, vanilla extract, and eggs to dry ingredients. Stir just until combined.

Spread batter evenly into prepared pan. Sprinkle with toffee bits.

Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack.

Fudgy Mocha Toffee Brownies

Fudgy Mocha Toffee Brownies

14 Responses

  1. Those look great. I just made some brownies and I was going to blog about them. Yours look much more interesting.

  2. I think I gained two pounds reading this post, but it was worth it.

  3. looks yummy!

  4. looks terrific, and just enough to compliment the afternoon coffee. x

  5. Oh, wow! You’ve got me swooning here! Divine!

  6. Once again amazing!! I nominated you for the Lovely Blog award! I always enjoy your word, recipes and pictures and just wanted to share that with everyone! Here is the link if you want it, and if not thats ok too! 🙂 http://fromamontanafrontporch.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

