Blackberry Cobbler

Blackberry Cobbler

Blackberry Cobbler

I was so very, very lucky to be able to find some big, plump, juicy, organic blackberries at my local grocery store this past weekend. You wouldn’t believe how difficult it can be to find good and affordable fruit around here sometimes. A lot of the fruit and vegetables in the grocery stores here are flown up from the lower 48. When the fruit and veggies finally arrive and hit the grocery store shelves, they’re not always in the best of shape – and they cost quite a bit of money. The blackberries that I purchased this weekend usually cost over $5.00 for a single 6 ounce container. However, I was able to get them on sale at 2 for $5.00. Now that it’s Spring and growing season again, I’ll soon be able to make the rounds of the local farmers markets and pick up some locally grown fruits and vegetables. Yum!

When I arrived home with the blackberries, I debated for quite a while as to whether I wanted to eat them “as-is”, or if I should bake something with them. I finally decided to use the blackberries in a Blackberry Cobbler, and I’m happy to say that I made the right decision. This has got to be one of the best cobblers that I’ve ever tasted. The cake portion of the cobbler is very light and moist, and the plump, juicy blackberries were absolutely delicious. The 1/4 cup of sugar that was sprinkled over the top of the cobbler right before baking added a bit more sweetness to the cobbler and a crispy texture to the top, which I really enjoyed.

I definitely plan on making this cobbler again – as soon as I’m able to find some more plump, juicy blackberries.

~Enjoy~




Blackberry Cobbler

1/2 cup butter, plus a bit extra for buttering the baking pan
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar, divided
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 cups blackberries (frozen or fresh)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 8-inch square baking pan.

Rinse blackberries and pat dry; set aside. Melt 1/2 cup butter in a microwavable dish; set aside.

In a large bowl, combine 1 cup sugar, flour, baking powder and salt. Whisk in the milk and then whisk in the melted butter. Mix well.

Pour the batter into the buttered baking dish. Sprinkle the blackberries over the top of the batter; distributing evenly. Sprinkle 1/4 cup sugar over the top.

Bake for 1 hour, or until golden. Remove from oven and place on wire rack to cool slightly.

Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream.

Blackberry Cobbler

Blackberry Cobbler

18 Responses

  1. That looks delicious!

  2. YUMMY!! they sure do look juicy and moist inside! 🙂 looks really tasty. come check out our fashion blog – https://www.facebook.com/NeedleandFork

  3. That looks so good!

  4. Just what I need , it looks sooo good…

  5. I love blackberries. That looks so good.

  6. This looks so good! Love all the blackberries!

  7. Just found this recipe, and it is in the oven as I write this. We are abounding with fresh blackberries all over our property here in Florida. I am putting extra ones in the freezer,but would love to make some jam with them. I Will let you know how it turns out. I had all the ingredients and love the fact that it is ALL homemade!!Thanks for an easy recipe!
    (our black lab saw us picking and eating the blackberries, and then SHE started eating them right off the bush!!!LOL)

    • Ok!TASTE TESTER AND RECIPE TESTER IS BACK!!
      It turned out GREAT!!! Looks JUST like the picture and IS scrumptious!!Very easy to make and tastes great! I will definately be back here for more of your recipies.Thanks!!

      • I’m so glad you enjoyed the cobbler!! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment to let me know how this recipe turned out for you. I really enjoy reading comments and recipe reviews from my blog visitors. Thank you!! 🙂

  8. I’ve been in a baking mood and came across your recipe for blackberry cobbler and decided to try it! I’ve had it cooking for over an hour now and it just isn’t turning golden brown, it is still soupy looking in the middle. Hopefully cooking it a little longer will fix that! Can’t wait to try it!

  9. I can’t wait to try this!!! I baked a “Peach Cobbler” the other day from a recipe I got from “Pinterest”, and my husband RAVED! Believe me, this man doesn’t go on and on about ANYTHING, but he LOVED my “Peach Cobbler!”

Leave a Reply

