Skillet Cream Puff Pie

Skillet Cream Puff Pie

Skillet Cream Puff Pie

All last week we had beautiful sunny weather with temperatures in the mid to high 50’s. Unfortunately, when the weekend rolled around, it turned cloudy and cooler. Isn’t that always the way it seems to be? During the work week the weather is fantastic, and on the weekends, not so much. I guess I don’t mind the cooler weather too much though. I did manage to get a lot of the outdoor projects on my list done during the week, and now I have time to do a little baking.

For our weekend dessert, I decided to make a Skillet Cream Puff Pie. It’s a bit of a twist on the classic cream puff dessert. It has everything you’d expect to find in a classic cream puff – light fluffy pastry, vanilla cream/pudding, chocolate and whipped topping – it’s just arranged a little differently. No matter which way you arrange it though, the end result is still the same – a rich, decadent dessert that tastes absolutely delicious.

Cream Puffs have always been one of my very favorite desserts, and now this pie has become one too.

~Enjoy~




Skillet Cream Puff Pie

1 cup water
1/2 cup butter, cubed
1 cup all-purpose flour
4 eggs

Filling:
1 package (5.1 ounce) instant vanilla pudding mix
2 1/2 cups milk

Topping:
1 carton (8 ounces) frozen whipped topping, thawed
1/4 cup chocolate chips
1 tablespoon butter

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a 12-inch cast iron skillet, or make sure it’s well seasoned.

In a large saucepan, bring water and butter to a boil. Add flour all at once and stir until a smooth ball forms. Remove from the heat; let stand for 5 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Continue beating until smooth and shiny.

Spread onto the bottom and halfway up the sides of prepared skillet. Bake for 22-26 minutes, or until puffed and golden brown. If any part has puffed up too much, prick with a toothpick a few times to let the steam escape and it should deflate. Cool completely on a wire rack.

For filling, in a medium bowl, beat the pudding mix into the 2 1/2 cups milk with a whisk for 2 minutes. Spread over the crust; refrigerate for 20 minutes.

For topping, spread whipped topping over pudding. Combine chocolate chips and butter in a microwave safe bowl; microwave for approximately 20 seconds. Stir until smooth and combined. Let cool slightly and then drizzle over whipped topping.

Chill until ready to serve.

9 Responses

  1. This looks like a heavenly dessert. I LOVE cream puffs – so will definitely make this one. Thanks for sharing AlskaMom!

  2. AKMom – yum. I will be making this dessert for myself sometime soon. Thank you for sharing – that skillet sure get a lot of love 🙂

  3. Here I thought only Tennessee weather was great during the work week and no so great on the weekends! But now that I’m retired I can handle that a little better. It’s been years since I’ve had a cream puff, but I’m drooling over my keyboard right now!

    • Ha ha… maybe I’ll be able to handle it a little better when I retire, George. Unfortunately, I still have a ways to go before then. 🙂
      Have a wonderful day!

  4. […] know how she does it, but Alaska Mom has come up with yet another wonderful recipe – Skillet Cream Puff Pie. Not only does this pie look delicious, but it’s also tres, tres simple. Hopefully, […]

  5. Triple yummy!!! And I love that it is in a skillet!

Leave a Reply

