Bohemian Waxwing

Bohemian Waxwing

Bohemian Waxwing

On my walk home from work today, I spotted a flash of color among all the bright whiteness of the surrounding snowy landscape. Upon further investigation, I discovered that it was a Bohemian Waxwing sitting on the ground. It seemed alert, and even moved it’s head around as I talked to it, but for some reason it just seemed content to sit on the ground.

I asked the little bird if it would be alright to take its picture, and I interpreted the silent response as permission to go ahead. After snapping a few photos, I bid “goodbye” to the little birdie and left it in peace.

Bohemian Waxwing

Bohemian Waxwing

I decided to snap a couple more photos as I walked the rest of the way home. This photo is of a path that winds through the neighborhood I live in. As you may be able to tell by the snow berms on either side of the path, we’ve received quite a bit of snow here this winter.

Snowy path

Snowy path

This is a photo of one of the bus stops in my neighborhood. It’s a good thing I’ve memorized the bus schedule, because the schedule attached to the bus stop pole is almost completely covered with snow.

Bus stop

Bus stop

Have a great week everyone!

GM29BPEZZETK

6 Responses

  1. What a gorgeous bird that is! I’ve never seen one. So that’s where all of our snow went this winter!

    • You’re welcome to have some of our snow. 🙂
      I just looked out the window and it’s snowing again. Spring can’t come soon enough for me. 🙂

  2. You got great pictures of the waxwing. I’m happy that we haven’t gotten nearly the snow you’ve gotten.

    • We are now up to 115.3’’ of snow for 2011-2012, George – making this the 4th snowiest winter ever. We only need 17.5’’ of snow to tie the all time record.
      That’s one record I’m really hoping we don’t tie, or break. 🙂

  3. […] have been amazed and transported by exotic (to me) birds, the wonderful winter landscapes and a […]

  4. Our Cedar Waxwings arrive in flocks, decimate the hollies or anything that has red berries on them and then they’re off. Beautiful birds!

Leave a comment