Butterscotch Blondies

Butterscotch Blondies

Butterscotch Blondies

Around mid-November, I begin stocking my freezer with baking chips – to use in my holiday baking. I must admit, I use a lot of baking chips during the holiday season, and I’m often surprised at how quickly I go through them.

However, today I decided to do my post-holiday cleaning of the freezer, and I noticed that I still had one bag of butterscotch baking chips left. Since all my holiday cookies and desserts have finally been consumed, I decided to do some baking and use the chips I had found. I thought of several things I could make with the chips, but I kept coming back to this recipe for Butterscotch Blondies.

Blondies are one of my favorite “quick” desserts to bake, and butterscotch chips are wonderful in this recipe. The blondies are not only soft, moist and delicious, but you also get a little crunch from the addition of chopped nuts.

~Enjoy~




Butterscotch Blondies

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla butter & nut flavoring
1 (11 ounce) package butterscotch chips
1 cup chopped nuts

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 13×9-inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

Beat butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar in large bowl until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla butter & nut flavoring; beat well.

Gradually add dry ingredients to butter mixture, beating until well blended. Fold in butterscotch chips and nuts. Spread in prepared pan.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until top is golden brown and a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars.

Makes approximately 36 bars.

2 Responses

  1. Must be delicious.

    A question: Defrosting the freezer ever? We are melting the freezer at home when it is possible (enough cold outside) to carry all the articles out of the freezer as long as the freezer melted and cleaned.

    All the best for this year!

    • I have not had to defrost the freezer that I currently have. It stays pretty much frost-free. If I did however, I think defrosting it in the winter would be the best time to do it, so I could take things outside to stay cold. 🙂
      Have a wonderful new year!!

Leave a Reply

