Easy Mint Chocolate Fudge

Easy Mint Chocolate Fudge

Easy Mint Chocolate Fudge

One of our local grocery stores recently had a sale of 50% off a large variety of spices and extracts – which was terrific, since I still have a lot of baking I’d like to do before the holidays.

while looking over the selection, I spotted a small bottle of vanilla butter & nut flavor extract. It was the first time I’ve seen that particular flavor offered at the store, so I grabbed one of the remaining two bottles on the shelf and added it to my cart. After I got home, I did a little online research and learned that the vanilla butter & nut flavoring is a combination of vanilla, butter and almond extracts, which are pretty common flavors used in baking recipes.

I decided to try the extract in this Easy Mint Chocolate Fudge recipe. As I was adding it to the mixture, I suddenly realized that there was a real possibility that the mint flavor would overpower the vanilla butter & nut flavoring. I was right. Although the fudge is absolutely delicious, the mint is the dominant flavor. The next time I whip up a batch of this fudge, I’ll probably use plain vanilla extract.

Not to worry though, I have big plans to use the vanilla butter & nut flavoring in a batch of Cutout Sugar Cookies that I’ll be making real soon. 🙂

~Enjoy~




Easy Mint Chocolate Fudge

1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk
1 (10 ounce) package Andes Crème De Menthe baking chips
1 cup milk chocolate chips
2 tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon vanilla butter & nut flavor extract (or 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)

Line a 9-inch square pan with a piece of plastic wrap that is longer than the pan. Leave the ends out to cover the finished fudge.

Combine all ingredients in the top of a double boiler. Place over simmering water and stir until chocolate is melted and mixture is smooth.

Pour and spread mixture into prepared pan. Cover lightly with the ends of the plastic wrap.

Refrigerate until firm. Lift out of the pan and cut into small squares.

Store in refrigerator.

5 Responses

  1. Looks and sounds delicious!

  2. Mint chocolate, wow, it sounds so delicious. It is an eternity when I have tasted fudge. I am sure that Your receipt is awesome.

    • Thank you, sartenada. It has been quite a while since I’ve made fudge, and this one is really good. I had to put some away in my freezer so I wouldn’t eat it all before the holidays. 😉

  3. I am on vacation this week and already thinking about Christmas! Andes mint chips sound great for a fudge recipe. ~ judy

Leave a Reply

