Chocolate Covered Pretzel Cookies

Chocolate Covered Pretzel Cookies

Chocolate Covered Pretzel Cookies

Do you ever get a yearning for a snack that is both salty and sweet?? Well, I had that particular craving today, but I didn’t have any snacks on hand that looked like they would satisfy my appetite.

I was already planning on doing some baking today, so I started thinking of something I could make that would satisfy my sweet and salty snack craving. Here’s what did the trick – the Chocolate Covered Pretzel Cookie!!

At first bite, this cookie is soft, chewy and oh so chocolaty. But then you get a little salty surprise from the crisp pretzel pieces. It’s the best of both worlds!!

~Enjoy~




Chocolate Covered Pretzel Cookies

2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup pretzel sticks, broken into bite-sized pieces

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars. Add the eggs and vanilla extract and mix until combined. Gradually add dry ingredients and blend well.

Fold in the chocolate chips and pretzel pieces.

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls, 2-inches apart, onto cookie sheets. Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Cool 1 minute on cookie sheet. Remove from cookie sheet to a wire rack and cool completely.

Makes approximately 3 1/2 dozen cookies.

7 Responses

  1. Salty and sweet wrapped up in chocolate . . . Woo-hoo! I was wondering what to do with the big bag of pretzels I have – now I know. Thanks for this great recipe.

  2. This is THE PERFECT recipe! Simple, sweet and includes my two favorite things – chocolate and pretzels. I think I’ll keep this in my arsenal. 😀

  3. […] Chocolate Covered Pretzel Cookie Recipe […]

  4. I made these last week and they were a huge hit with the neighbors and my husband (he said they are one of his new favorites)…and me, of course! Easy to make and my batch made about 4 dozen. Perfect mix of salty and sweet, crunchy and soft. I will be making these again tomorrow for people coming over to watch football…yum! Thanks for the great recipe.

    • I’m so happy that everyone enjoyed the cookies, Kelly! Thank you so much for your comment. You made my day. 🙂

Leave a comment