German Spritz Cookies

German Spritz Cookies

German Spritz Cookies

I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical when I started making these cookies. I don’t believe I’ve ever made a baked good before using hard boiled egg yolks. I thought the cookies would turn out dry and crumbly – due to the low amount of liquid ingredients – but I was wrong. 🙂

The cookies turned out great!! The dough was thick, but workable…which made it perfect for using with a cookie press. The cookies themselves are crisp on the outside, but wonderfully moist on the inside.

~Enjoy~




German Spritz Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
4 hard boiled egg yolks, mashed
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Add egg yolks, almond and vanilla extracts; stir until well-combined. Gradually add flour, mixing well.

Using a cookie shooter, press onto a parchment-lined baking sheet.

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes, or until the edges are just brown. Remove to wire rack to cool.

Makes approximately 4 1/2 dozen cookies.

7 Responses

  1. That is an interesting recipe … I’ve never used hard boiled egg yolks in a baked good, either. Sprintz Cookies are so yummy!

    I posted Hermit Cookies on my blog today. Do you make them?

    • I’ve never made Hermit cookies before, JG. After reading the recipe on your blog though, I’m going to definitely try! They sound very yummy! 🙂

  2. Well I never ! Imagine using boiled egg yolks to make cookies ?! It just shows, there’s always something new out there to learn … I’m fascinated, and they look great, too 😉

  3. Thanks for this German spritz cookies recipe. They look great!

  4. I grew up using the hard egg yolks in a similar cookie (not used in the press), as well as making Spritz from a completely different recipe. Both are family recipes (both different than this, though this looks wonderful as well), brought to the USA from Germany, back when Germany still had royalty. 😉

    • This was the first time I’ve baked cookies using hard egg yolks, but I was very pleased with the results. They turned out great!
      I bet your family recipes are wonderful, Rachel. Thank you so very much for visiting my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

