Apple Cinnamon Walnut Squares

Apple Cinnamon Walnut Squares

Apple Cinnamon Walnut Squares

There are only a few days left in the month of October, and I’m happy to report that we’ve had absolutely zero snowfall here yet. 🙂

I know there are some readers out there who love snow, but my favorite season is Autumn and I’m not too anxious for it to leave just yet.

In honor of this year’s long Autumn season, I’ve made this wonderful dessert.
Nothing says “Fall” more than a freshly baked yummy dessert loaded with apples, cinnamon and walnuts. 🙂

~Enjoy~




Apple Cinnamon Walnut Squares

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
6 medium apples – peeled, cored and thinly sliced
1 cup chopped walnuts

Topping
2/3 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
6 tablespoons butter, chilled

Glaze
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9×13-inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat together butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until fluffy. Gradually add flour mixture and mix until just blended. Fold in apples and walnuts.
Spread batter evenly in prepared baking dish.

For topping, stir together sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle over batter.

Bake for 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool in pan on a wire rack.

When cake has cooled, drizzle with Glaze; if desired.

Makes approximately 16 squares.



Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

19 Responses

  1. i remember fall in alaska and it was absolutely breathtaking! the apple bars look breathtaking too!

  2. Apples – cinnamon – and walnuts! . . . I’ll be right over. Yum-yum.

  3. Sounds like a delicious combination …. apples, nuts & cinnamon … mmmmm ! Hope the snow holds off for you & that Autumn comes soon 🙂

  4. I don’t particularly like snow ’cause I have to shovel it. 😛 I love this dessert, though! Apples, cinnamon, and glaze = yum!

  5. Those look fantastic! I could have one right now with my coffee!

  6. The combination of apples, cinnamon & nutmeg sounds so good! Yummy!

  7. Looks very yummy! I’ll have to see if I can concoct a sugarless interpretation…

  8. I love that combination and once again will add another of your recipes to my ever growing collection (and ever expanding waistline LOL ) It’s funny when I think of Alaska I automatically think of tons of snow and yet you are still having Autumn while Colorado and other places are socked in with winter storms! Today here in OH it will be in the 70’s and I’m ecstatic but tomorrow the bottom drops out and I think our Autumn is on its way out. Cheers!

    • I feel so spoiled this season, because we are having an unusually long Autumn. 🙂 I’m sure snow will be here before too long though…

  9. it looks yummy thanks a lot

  10. well ya done it again..been awhile since I posted main computer crashed and I headed south for the winter months..but now back on track and am making this scrumptious goodie… Lordy, I know the folks in Alaska just got to have you logged in to see what your fixin up next… Hey, belated Thanksgiving and a Merry Christmas ahead of time just incase I get lost again.. You is good gal..just enjoy your blog ..smells are good coming from the kitchen..
    God Bless
    BarbZeee

    • Good to hear from you again, BarbZeee!! I really hope you enjoy this goodie. 🙂 I also hope that you and your family enjoy a wonderful Christmas, and I hope your Thanksgiving was a good one.
      Take care and enjoy the warmer weather down south. 🙂

Leave a Reply

