Peanut Butter-Cup Cake

Peanut Butter-Cup Cake

Peanut Butter-Cup Cake

Here’s another wonderful recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks – Good Housekeeping’s “Best Loved Desserts“. I picked this book up at my local Barnes & Noble bookstore a couple months ago. It was in the bargain book section and was priced at just around $7.00. (the original price was $29.95)
Don’t you just love finding bargains like that. 🙂

Even though I just made Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies earlier this week, my family was still in the mood for something peanut buttery. I chose to make the Peanut Butter-Cup Cake from the “Best Loved Desserts” cookbook. This cake is wonderful served plain – as a quick snack cake or packed in a school lunch – or you can dress it up by adding a scoop of ice cream and chocolate glaze.

~Enjoy~




Peanut Butter-Cup Cake

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter — I used chunky because I like peanuts 🙂
1/2 cup butter or margarine (1 stick), softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2/3 cup whole milk — I used skim milk

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease decorative 10-cup metal loaf pan or 10-cup bundt pan; dust pan with flour.

In medium bowl, with wire whisk, mix flour and baking powder; set aside.

In large bowl, with mixer at low speed, beat peanut butter, butter, and granulated and brown sugars until blended, frequently scraping bowl with rubber spatula. Increase speed to medium-high; beat until creamy, about 3 minutes, occasionally scraping bowl. Reduce speed to low; add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Alternately add flour mixture and milk, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Beat just until smooth.

Spoon batter into prepared pan; spread evenly. Bake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, 60 to 65 minutes.

Cool cake in pan on wire rack for 15 minutes. Run thin knife around edge to loosen cake from side of pan. Invert cake directly onto wire rack to cool completely.

Drizzle cooled cake with Satiny Chocolate Glaze ; if desired.



Satiny Chocolate Glaze

2 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon butter or margarine
1 tablespoon corn syrup
2 tablespoons baking cocoa
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Heat water, butter and corn syrup in small saucepan to boiling.
Remove from heat; immediately stir in cocoa. With whisk, gradually beat in powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth; cool slightly.



Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

8 Responses

  1. Ahhh, that looks so good! Great find on the book! There is a discount book warehouse in town with amazing cookbooks, and I must restrain myself when I go in there.

  2. I so love chocolate and PB in any way, shape or form and that looks absolutely yummy as usual. The brownies look terrific as well :0)

  3. I just had to tell you how excited I am to find your blog. I live in Mississippi and I visited Alaska nearly 20 years ago. It was my Mom’s dream to drive the Alcan highway and see Alaska. Mom died a few years after our trip and it is a very special memory for me. I still have a keen interest in life in Alaska and your blog is a great find for me. That blueberry cake looks fabulous, I must try that, I just wish I had some of those wild blueberries! I read lots of food blogs, but yours will be one I visit often. Thank you!

    • What a lovely memory to have, Angelia. I’m so happy that you and your mom had a chance to visit Alaska, and that you had a chance to drive the Alcan. It’s a truly beautiful drive.
      Thank you so much for sharing your story, and thank you so very much for visiting my blog!

  4. Chunky peanut butter is the best!!! It must taste delicious in your cake.

Leave a Reply

