Blueberry Yogurt Cake

Blueberry Yogurt Cake slice

Blueberry Yogurt Cake slice

Blueberry Yogurt Cake

Blueberry Yogurt Cake

Blueberry Yogurt Cake with Vanilla Glaze

Blueberry Yogurt Cake with Vanilla Glaze

Fall is my very favorite season. Even though the temperature is decidedly cooler, I just can’t get enough of seeing all the brilliant colors of the turning leaves. They are so beautiful.

Another fall favorite, is the abundance of berries that can be found during this time of year. I just love settling down in a berry patch, taking in the view, and de-stressing while plucking the little berries off the bushes. I also enjoy contemplating all the delicious goodies I can whip up with them. 🙂

On my hiking trek at Alyeska last weekend, I brought along a few containers – expecting to find a plethora of blueberries along the way and stuffing the containers full. Even though I kept looking the whole way along the trail, I didn’t even come across one single berry. They must have already been snatched up by other berry picking enthusiasts, or by the bears – who are probably stuffing themselves before hibernation.

Instead of including the intended wild Alaskan blueberries in this latest recipe, I had to rely on store bought. Either way though, this cake turned out absolutely delicious. 🙂

~Enjoy~




Blueberry Yogurt Cake

3 large eggs
6 ounces light vanilla yogurt
2 packets True Orange
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup Smart Balance Omega cooking oil
1 (18.25 ounce) package white cake mix
2 cups frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 10 or 12-cup Bundt cake pan or a tube cake pan.

In a mixing bowl with electric mixer, beat together eggs, yogurt, True Orange, water, sugar, and oil. Slowly beat in the cake mix. Beat on medium speed for 2 minutes. Gently fold in blueberries. Spoon batter into prepared cake pan.

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted near the center of cake comes out clean.

Cool cake in pan for 10 minutes. Invert onto serving dish and cool completely.
Drizzle cooled cake with Vanilla Glaze; if desired.



Vanilla Glaze

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon butter, melted

Mix all ingredients until creamy. Pour over cooled cake.



Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

23 Responses

  1. bears? Did somebody say bears? In the woods? Eating blueberries? At least all I see in the woods here is deer and strangely dressed humans…the recipe sounds delish!!!

    • Yea…we have to be pretty careful when we’re out picking berries. Usually though, there are quite a few people out picking, and that tends to keep the bears away. 🙂

  2. […] Read the original:  Blueberry Yogurt Cake […]

  3. This must be delicious with the hint of orange and the delicious sounding vanilla glaze. Looks perfec t!

  4. Ohhhhh, with a fresh cup of coffee,… yum!

    • It does go well with coffee, Cedar. In fact, I’m enjoying my morning cup of coffee right now, and I’m so tempted to have a piece of cake along with it. 🙂

  5. That looks delightful !

  6. this is so pretty, i love it!

  7. What a gorgeous bundt cake! I love the vanilla glaze too. I’m a big fan of vanilla – it’s my favorite flavor!

    • I’m a big fan of vanilla too. 🙂
      This glaze is really good. It’s thick and creamy, and covers cake really well.

  8. This cake looks absolutely amazing, beautiful and delish! I love the idea of using yogurt too. Just one question: can I use plain flour instead of cake mix?
    Thank you!

    • Thanks so much for visiting, asiajo, and thank you for the compliment on the cake. 🙂
      To answer your question, you would need more than just plain flour to substitute for the cake mix. Most cake mixes also include baking powder and dry milk. If you don’t have a box of cake mix, you can easily make your own with just a few ingredients. Here is a link to “The Fresh Loaf” – a wonderful website that has a great recipe for a Homemade Yellow Cake Mix:: http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/12422/what-can-i-substitute-cake-mix
      I hope this helps!

  9. Great! Thank you very much for the link. I don’t use cake mixes since they not widely available in my local shops but now with your help I will be bale to bake this fabulously looking cake! thanks again ….

  10. The Blueberry Yogurt Cake looks so yummy! Thanks for the link on “making cake mixes”. I do not use them, either, but have recipes that require cake mixes. Blueberries are in my freezer and I do make yogurt, so now I can bake this tasty looking cake!

    • Oh how wonderful. I’m so glad the link will help you too, JG!
      I prefer to make my cakes from scratch, but my darn grocery store keeps having “buy 2 get 3 free” sales on cake mixes…and I just can’t seem to pass it up. 🙂

  11. And I love Blueberry Yogurt Cake. Thanks for this one. I am going to make if for my family this coming week end. Fondly, Rose

  12. i’ve never heard of true orange!! I am looking into it! this cake looks gorgeous!

    • Thank you so much for the compliment on the cake, K! I really like the whole True Lemon, Lime & Orange line of products. They really work well in a variety of recipes.
      Thanks for visiting my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

