Peanut-Butter Cupcakes

Peanut-Butter Cupcakes

Peanut-Butter Cupcakes

There’s nothing I enjoy more than finding a good bargain. That’s why I like to go to my local Barnes & Noble bookstore on Sunday afternoons and peruse their bargain book bins. I especially love looking at the cookbooks, and I seldom return home without purchasing at least one. 🙂

Last Sunday, I came across Good Housekeeping’s “Best-Loved Desserts” cookbook in the bargain bin. It’s a huge cookbook with more than 250 delicious sounding desserts and gorgeous photos. I was able to pick it up for only $7.18. What a Bargain!!

It was very difficult to pick out which recipe to try first, but these peanut butter cupcakes just jumped out at me and I knew I had to try them. As I suspected, they turned out fantastic! The recipe book calls for placing a square of chocolate on top of each cupcake after they come out of the oven, and using that for frosting. I guess you let the chocolate melt and spread it over the cupcake like frosting. However, I opted to frost my cupcakes with a cocoa frosting. (recipe below)

~Enjoy~




PS ~ I’ll be on vacation for the next couple of weeks, so I won’t be posting any new blog entries until later this month. Take care everyone, and I’ll post more goodies and photos in a couple weeks! 🙂



Peanut-Butter Cupcakes

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup creamy or chunky peanut butter
1/4 cup vegetable shortening
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line eighteen 2 1/2-inch muffin-pan cups with paper baking liners.

In medium bowl, with wire whisk, mix flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

In large bowl, with mixer at medium speed, beat peanut butter and shortening until blended. Add sugar and beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Reduce speed to low; add flour mixture alternately with milk, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Beat just until blended, occasionally scraping bowl with rubber spatula.

Divide batter evenly among cups. Bake until toothpick inserted in center of cupcakes comes out clean, about 18 minutes.

Cool on wire rack. Frost with Easy Cocoa Frosting, or frosting of your desire.



Easy Cocoa Frosting

3 tablespoons butter, softened
1/4 cup cocoa
1 1/3 cup powdered sugar
2-3 tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

In small mixer bowl combine all ingredients.
Beat to spreading consistency.

Makes about 1 cup frosting.



Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

9 Responses

  1. wow AK ths is adorable with that gooey frosting. enjoy ur hols.

  2. Have a good vacation… wherever you’re heading.

  3. Those look so great and I love (adore??) chocolate and PB! Best thing on earth in any form.

    Love bargain bin books!

    I wondered about those silicone baking cups I have some cake pans and muffin pans like those and I absolutely love them. Do those work as well?

    Have a wonderful vacation and I will miss seeing your newest goodies you’ve baked.

  4. I pick up cookbooks from B&N, too. Great bargains. These cupcakes sound yummy – I’m not a peanut butter fan but Devoted Spouse will enjoy. Have a lovely vacation and we’ll see you when you return! Hugs!

  5. oh how yummy! perfect combo!

  6. Oh! These peanut butter cupcakes look so yummie! I definitely would try to make them 🙂

  7. I too adore finding bargain books 😀 Those Peanut-Butter Cupcakes look awesome Aka mom. Have a great holiday !!

  8. These look delicious! I love peanut butter and chocolate!

Leave a Reply

