Hiking the Williwaw Lakes Trail

A couple weeks ago, I went hiking on the Williwaw Lakes trail here in Anchorage. It was a beautiful, sunny day – with temperatures in the mid to high 70’s. It was so warm in fact, that it didn’t take long to build up a sweat, and I sure was glad that I took plenty of water with me. It must have been too warm for the wildlife too, because they were nowhere in sight.

We didn’t hike far enough to reach the lakes, but we had a wonderful time exploring around the valley and taking in the sights of the majestic mountains surrounding us.

I thought I would share some photos from that hike with you.

~Enjoy~




My protector

My protector


Helicopter flies over the valley

Helicopter flies over the valley


Can you see the trail down in the valley?

Can you see the trail down in the valley?


Stream flowing through the valley

Stream flowing through the valley


Another view of the stream

Another view of the stream


Not sure why there are stairs here

Not sure why there are stairs here


Stairway to heaven?

Stairway to heaven?


Nice looking mountain

Nice looking mountain


It sure has a rocky top to it

It sure has a rocky top to it


Pretty flowers surround the trail

Flowers surround the trail





Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

10 Responses

  1. I’ve tried to figure out why in the world there would be stairs out there… and it is baffling!

  2. Oh how gorgeous are those photos. Thanks for taking the time to share them!

  3. Those stairs are funny,… was there a building there at one time? Lovely views.

    • Nope, no building Cedar…or any remnants of a building. The stairs look fairly new, so I’m pretty sure they were added not too long ago. Weird. 🙂

  4. What great pictures! I’m also a wordpress.com blogger. I have a couple of questions maybe you could answer. I can’t seem to get to code to upload a grab and go button. I can get the picture, but I can’t get the box where the info. scrolls within to grab and go.

    Can you help me with that. WordPress doesn’t seem to know what I’m talking about.

    Thanks so much!

    • Hi Bluecottenmemory!

      Thanks for visiting! I’m glad you like my photos! 🙂

      Here is the code I used to put the scroll box for the “Grab my Button” that you see on my blog:
      ⟨div style=”width:113px;height:120px;background-color:FFFFFF;font-family:arial;font-size:12px;color:0;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;text-align:left;overflow:auto;border-color:000000;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;padding:5px;”⟩⟨a href=”http://YOURWEBSITE.wordpress.com”⟩⟨img src=”http://www.THELOCATIONOFYOURBUTTON.jpg”⟩⟨/a⟩⟨/div⟩

      You’ll want to put the above code into a text widget, and replace the YOURWEBSITE with the location of your blog/website and replace the THELOCATIONOFYOURBUTTON with – well, the location of your button. 🙂

      I couldn’t find much help from WordPress when I was trying to set this up on my blog, but this site was really helpful: http://www.allaboutkimberly.com/grab-my-button

      Good luck!

  5. I enjoyed your great photos! What a beautiful place! I’ve always wanted to visit Alaska; maybe some day.

  6. The boardwalk and steps are there to protect the soggy terrain, and make walking easier.

Leave a Reply

