Hiking Pics

The temperatures here in Anchorage have been in the high 70’s to the low 80’s for the past several days, so I decided to take a break from unpacking boxes and take a little hike over the 4th of July weekend.

Here are a few pictures from that hike.

~Enjoy~



Better keep an eye out for these critters...

Better keep an eye out for these critters...


No salmon or bears in sight

No salmon or bears in sight


Trail and part of bridge over stream

Trail and part of the bridge that goes over the stream


Other end of bridge

Other end of bridge


Sun casts a pretty glow over the woods

The sun casts a pretty glow over the woods


Pretty flowers along the trail

Pretty purple flowers along the trail


Wildfires cast a haze over the mountains

Wildfires burning across Alaska cast a bit of a haze over the mountains



Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

5 Responses

  1. Those photos are beautiful from your hike Aka mom! Oh gosh unpacking of boxes not a great job and hope you are settled in soon and all unpacked.

    • Thanks, Rosie!! I’m getting there, but it sure is a lot of work.
      I can’t wait until I’m all finished and everything is in its place. 🙂

  2. I think you are a very brave lady hiking in that park. I saw the program on animal planet or discovery channel where they were showing the bear problem up there and the people that got attacked there. I don’t know if I would be up for that hike. I hope you are very, very, careful!

    Don’t wanna lose ya’ lady :0)

    • Thank you so very much for your concern, Delaney. I’m pretty careful when it comes to hiking here in Alaska. I always bring a firearm with me, and I also try to make lots of noise – In hopes that the bear will hear me first and go off in the opposite direction. 🙂 Also, If I see any fresh “signs” of bear in the area where I’m hiking, I tend to just turn back – to avoid any potential confrontations.
      Better to be safe than sorry, is what I always say. 🙂

  3. Wonderful site-thanks for the awesome recipes! Betty

Leave a Reply

