Apple Cinnamon Rolls

Frosted Apple Cinnamon Rolls

There’s nothing quite like the smell of cinnamon rolls baking in the oven.
I know it may be more convenient to buy cinnamon rolls at the store or the local bakery, but then I would miss out on seeing the smiles on my family’s faces when they smell these yummy rolls baking.

I made these ahead of time, thinking I could put them away until Easter and then enjoy them with brunch…but, honestly, I don’t think they’re going to last until Sunday.

The cinnamon-apple aroma is lingering in my home, and my family has already started gobbling these tasty rolls up. Okay…I’ll admit…I’ve had one…or two. 🙂

I guess I’d better get another batch started. 🙂

~Enjoy~



Apple Cinnamon Rolls

Dough
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 packet fast-rising active dry yeast
2/3 cup milk
2/3 cup water
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 egg yolks

Filling
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup granulated sugar
4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 small apples, diced

For dough – In a large mixing bowl, combine 2 cups flour and yeast. Set aside.
In a small saucepan, combine milk, water, sugar, oil and salt. Stir over medium heat and heat until just warm. Add milk mixture and egg yolks to dry mixture. Beat with an electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds. Beat on high speed for 3 minutes. Using a wooden spoon, stir in as much remaining flour as you can.

Turn dough out onto a floured surface. Knead for 3 to 5 minutes or until dough is smooth and elastic – if necessary, add more flour. Cover and let dough rest for 10 minutes. Roll out dough on floured surface to form a 14 x 12-inch rectangle.

For filling – Spread dough with softened butter. Combine the cinnamon and sugar and sprinkle over butter. Drop diced apples evenly over top.

Apple Cinnamon Roll Filling

Roll up dough, starting from long side. Seal seam. Slice into 12 pieces. Place in a greased 13x9x2-inch baking pan. Cover and let rise in warm place until nearly doubled; approximately 20 minutes.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for 20 minutes, or until golden.
Cool slightly; remove from pan.

Enjoy plain:

Apple Cinnamon Rolls

or frost warm rolls with Cream Cheese Icing. (see recipe below)
Makes 12 rolls.

Cream Cheese Icing
3 ounces cream cheese, softened
3 tablespoons butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon milk
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

In a medium mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, butter and vanilla extract until light and fluffy. Beat in milk. Gradually add powdered sugar until icing is of spreading consistency. Frost rolls.

Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

10 Responses

  1. Oh yum! I always have to frost them. I don’t wonder they aren’t lasting until Sunday,… look wonderful!

  2. I was thinking of making these for a breakfast treat this weekend. I love the apples in them. How delicious!

  3. Holy Crap!I am so going to try these. They sound awesome with the apples and the cream cheese frosting. LOVE this!

  4. Oh, these just look SO delicious I can almost smell/taste them 😉 The crisp white icing on the top of them just reminds me of the snow on the mountains in your header photo, too 🙂

  5. Oh those look DIVINE! I always shy away from recipes that use yeast (I’ve had too many failures, so I have no confidence) but I should really practice.

    And by the way, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY! You certainly got some really nice gifts, I’m glad you are so loved!! 🙂

  6. I absolutely love cinnamon rolls and adding apples to these, beats everything. Delicious.

  7. Awesome idea, they look delicious!

  8. One look at your apple rolls and your Dad wanted to go out and start the truck and head your way. You’re lucky that there is 166 miles between us, because he would definetly be at your door with his hand out for one these luscious looking rolls. I can’t wait to try them. Again I have to say – “Thanks Amy”.

  9. […] means that I stay away from bread products. One of the latest recipes from At Home in Alaska, Apple Cinnamon Rolls, has me rethinking that […]

  10. I made these cinnamon rolls and they were gone in no time on Mother’s Day. They were the easiet I had ever made. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

