Volcanic Ash on Snow

As some of you may know, there is a volcano approximately 100 miles southwest of Anchorage which has erupted approximately 19 times since Sunday, March 22nd.
The volcano’s name is Mt. Redoubt and up until this past Saturday night, we had been fortunate enough to not see any ash fall from the eruptions. On Saturday, however, that all changed. Mt. Redoubt erupted four times in 8 hours, and as late afternoon approached, the skies over Anchorage began to gray and ash began to slowly fall from the sky.

The airport shut down due to the ash fall, and people who had to be outdoors were seen donning face / dust masks -so they would not inhale any ash.
We covered up our cars with blankets and tarps, and stayed indoors for the remainder of the evening.

When we awoke Sunday morning, the wind was blowing and had swept most of the ash off of the cars. However, even though we only received a light dusting of ash, it was still very visible on the snow covered ground.

Here’s a picture of ash-covered snow:

ashcoveredsnow1

I swept my finger across the snow, and you can see how gray the top of the snow is compared to the white beneath:

ashcoveredsnow2

I caught site of this little squirrel scampering across the snow, and as you can see, he/she was leaving behind a trail of white footprints:

squirrel1

squirrel2

Mt. Redoubt was fairly calm during the day yesterday, but it sounds like there might have been another eruption over-night.

They are reporting that we can expect to see a pattern of the volcano dozing and then erupting, dozing and erupting… and that this pattern could go on for months!!

Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

10 Responses

  1. Wow! I have never actually seen ash like that before! Thank you for taking the time to post it!

  2. That must make day to day life difficult. Is the ash caustic to automobile paint? I would think it would be. Do take care!

  3. Oh my goodness, how crazy! I’ve never seen anything like that. Stay safe!

  4. How fascinating, yet scary at the same time – thanks for taking & sharing the pictures with us !

  5. I agree that it is interesting yet kind of scary at the same time. I wonder if the wildlife will have any ill effects from the ash. Stay safe.

  6. Thank you all so much for your concern and well wishes. 🙂

    With as many eruptions as Mt. Redoubt has had in the past week, I’m just thankful that we only received a “light” dusting of ash so far. We’re presently getting some light snow falling here, so hopefully that will help cover up the ash.

    I know that there have been a steady stream of cars at the car washes around town, Cedar…so I’m thinking that the ash may have some effect on the paint – possibly causing some minor scratches. We had our cars covered up before the ash fell…so no problem there. 🙂

  7. I’m not sure if the wildlife will have any ill effects from the ash, Reeni. I did, however, take down all my bird feeders when the ash began to fall. I cleaned each of them thoroughly, filled them with fresh bird seed, and only put them back outside when I was sure that there was no more ash falling.
    I’m not sure if ash can hurt birds…but I don’t want to take that chance. 🙂

  8. Sure hope that Mt. Redoubt stays quiet while I’m up there running in a couple of weeks! You’re doing a great job with your blog and Twitter postings. Keep it up! – Paul

  9. Thanks for this blog, and all the information. I plan to follow it closely. Have a holiday in Alaska planned in May / June. Last time I was there the State was covered with smoke and ash from wildfires.

    Lifey in Melbourne

  10. OMG. That news never reached here. To me it was extremely interesting due to closing of airport. You know that I worked at Helsinki airport nearly 40 years. Thank You very much for this interesting post!

    Sorry not being visiting on Your blog for long time. We were on travel in Egypt making nice Nile cruise and visiting old temples there. We arrived late yesterday and now we try to start to make our daily routines.

Leave a Reply

