Mocha Banana Bread

Mocha Banana Bread

Now here’s a bread that will help jump-start your morning…
If your a fan of coffee, or coffee flavoring, then this is the banana bread for you. I was a little bit skeptical at first, as to whether the mocha and banana flavors would pair well, but after one bite I quickly realized that they really do. After all, we all know that chocolate and banana pair well, so why not coffee and banana. 🙂

On a side note, I woke up to the news that one of our local volcano’s, Mt. Redoubt, erupted again — that makes four times since 5:30pm last night, and somewhere around eleven eruptions total since March 22nd. This volcano is about 100 miles southwest of my location, and thankfully we have not seen any ash in our area since Mt. Redoubt began erupting last Sunday. They are reporting that a pattern of the volcano dozing and then producing sky-high eruptions may persist for months. Sounds like it’s going to be an interesting Spring/Summer here in Alaska. 🙂

Time to finish up my cup of coffee and last few bites of Mocha Banana Bread.

~Enjoy~



Mocha Banana Bread

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 egg
3 bananas, mashed
1 tablespoon skim milk
2 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon instant coffee

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream brown sugar and butter. Add egg and beat well.
Mix in the mashed bananas and milk; stir until well combined.
Add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
Stir in water and instant coffee.

Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.

Bake for approximately 60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool on wire rack.

9 Responses

  1. Oh, that sounds perfect with morning coffee!

  2. I love all things banana! But I don’t think I’ve ever baked with this combo. It sounds delicious. It has a wonderful texture.

  3. Oh this looks so good. I just found your blog, you’ve got some great stuff. I spent a summer in AK and LOVED it, I can’t wait to go back.

  4. This bread sounds so delicious!! I Love to bake with bananas and throwin mocha flavor, I am your girl!!

  5. I am definitely going to try this! Thank you so much for the idea!

  6. I love banana bread, this will be a nice new twist.

    Buon appetito,

    Carmela

  7. I’m glad to hear you haven’t had an ash problem and are hopefully a safe distance no matter what happens. Are they worried about it erupting completely? and Jindal thought that volcano research and watching was a waste of government money – dumbass!

  8. YUK! We woke to ash this morning and we are 166 miles from Anchorage. It blew up from Valdez.. So – I think it’s a great day to bake up a loaf of your delicious sounding bread and cozy in. Thanks!

  9. I’m always on the hunt for different recipes to use up those sorry looking ripe bananas. This combo of flavours sounds great!

    Maria
    x

Leave a Reply

