Orange-flavored Milano Cookies

Orange-flavored Milano Cookies

I’m so excited!! I was finally able to find True Orange in my local grocery store this weekend. Yea!!
For those of you who are regular readers of my blog, you know how fond I am of the True Lemon product line.
I’ve been patiently waiting for their newest flavor, True Orange, to arrive here…and was so happy to find it yesterday.
I’ve made recipes with both True Lemon and True Lime, but this is my first recipe using True Orange.

I must say, True Orange lived up to my expectations, and gave these cookies exactly the orange flavor I was looking for.
I was genuinely surprised at how closely these homemade cookies resembled and tasted like the prepackaged Milano cookies you buy in the store. You can bet I’ll be making these again! 🙂

~Enjoy~



Orange-flavored Milano Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
6 packets True Orange
2 tablespoons water
2 cups all-purpose flour

Filling
1 tablespoon butter
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the 1 cup of butter and brown sugar. Add vanilla, True Orange packets and water. Mix well.
Gradually stir in flour. Blend thoroughly.

Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet, approximately 2-inches apart.
Bake for 15 minutes, or until cookies spread and turn a golden brown. Cool on flat surface.

For filling, place butter and chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on high for approximately 30 seconds, or just until melted. Let cool slightly.
Spread chocolate on one cookie and top with another.

Makes approximately 3 dozen cookies.

11 Responses

  1. I’ve sent for my sample of True Orange, can’t wait to try it. Haven’t found it in stores here yet. Orange and chocolate always a pair!

  2. Wow, love your new layout here! I have been so out of it and unable to visit all the blogs I love to visit! Looking good! As do these cookies!!

  3. Ah! I want the True line so badly on the East Coast! It hasn’t made it into stores yet, so I have to buy it online, but you can bet I will be making these cookies as soon as I can.

  4. Mmmmm … cookies with a citrus flavour always taste so refreshing – especially with a nice cuppa tea 😉

  5. Those look good as usual 🙂

    How much ash did you get from the volcano going “poof” or did you get any??

  6. If anyone would like to try True Lemon, True Lime and True Orange, you can send for a free sample from the True Lemon website at http://www.truelemon.com/sample.html. 🙂

    No ash fall here, Delaney! I guess we got lucky…this time. 🙂

  7. Those are one of my favorite cookies! These look so perfect and so delicious!

  8. Yum-yum I want some! 🙂 I hope I can find True Orange out here in my little bush store.If not I will just have to wait until I can get into the big city of Wasilla. This recipe sounds like a winner! Thanks again Amy.

  9. For some reason I would have thought making homemade Milanos would be much more difficult than that, maybe I’ll have to give them a try.

  10. I love the orange/chocolate combo, I’ll have to try these. You live in Alaska? Me too.

  11. […] Home in Alaska won my heart with her recipe for orange-flavored Milano cookies. I love the Pepperidge farm originials, but how could I not want my own […]

Leave a Reply

