Rocky Road Dessert

Rocky Road Dessert

Okay, I’ve got to confess…I can only eat a very small serving of this dessert in one sitting. Don’t get me wrong, this is a wonderful dessert – and if you love chocolate, nuts and marshmallows, then this is definitely one you’ve got to try. However, I feel it’s my duty to warn you that this dessert is super sweet and very ooey gooey. Be sure you have a tall glass of milk nearby while indulging in this rich treat. 🙂

~Enjoy~



Rocky Road Dessert

1 cup all-purpose flour
2/3 cup baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter
2 cups granulated sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Topping
2 1/2 cups miniature marshmallows
2 cups chocolate chunks (or chocolate chips)
1 cup chopped nuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 13 x 9-inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

Place butter in a large microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 1 minute, or until butter melts.
Add sugar, eggs, and vanilla extract. Beat with a spoon until well blended. Add flour mixture and blend well.

Spread batter into prepared pan. Bake for 22 minutes. Remove from oven.

Combine topping ingredients and sprinkle on top. Return to oven and continue baking for 5 minutes, or until marshmallows
have softened and puff slightly.

Remove from oven and cool on wire rack.

8 Responses

  1. Eh, you know I’m “dieting” but it’s fun to come here and vicariously enjoy a decadent dessert. 😛 Those look incredible, btw! I don’t know how you come up with all this scrumptious stuff to bake all the time? Do you ever have a dud? I rarely try anything new, I stick to “tried and true”. I admire people who not only try new things, but make them turn out well!

  2. That looks oooooh so good! And perhaps a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top? 🙂

  3. I have never tried to make Rocky Road anything, although I have seen a few recipes around – maybe I’ll try it sometime, I love sweet, gooey stuff but might just have to stick to a smaller portion 😉

  4. This looks so good! Love your blog!

  5. Carole – I guess I’ve just always enjoyed trying new things. It’s a philosophy my mom instilled in me while I was growing up. (Thanks, Mom!) 🙂
    I must admit…I do have a dud every now and then. Those don’t usually make it onto my blog, but maybe I should post one every now and then – just for fun. 🙂

    Cedar – I bet a scoop of ice cream would top this dessert off beautifully!

    Lynda – A smaller portion is probably a good idea…at least for this dessert. It is incredibly sweet. 🙂

    Erika – Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I just stopped by your blog and had fun looking at all of the delicious recipes you have posted. Your Triple Berry Coffeecake looks amazing. 🙂

  6. not another delicious looking thing at my bedtime! arghhh! lol.

  7. It looks so rich and delicious! I love ooey gooey, sweet desserts. I get a real bad sweet tooth sometimes that calls for the sweetest of desserts to satisfy it. I bet this would do the trick!

  8. I love all these: chocolate, nuts and marshmellow! It’s a yummy recipe!

Leave a Reply

