Fruit Pizza

Fruit Pizza

Now this pizza has to be healthier for me than the regular kind… Right?? Just look at all that fruit on top!! (and try to ignore the less-healthy cream cheese layer) 🙂

I’ve seen these “pizza’s” in my local grocery store, going for a pretty penny, so I never bought one. But today I thought I would try my hand at making my own.

I didn’t have any fresh fruit on hand, so I used a bag of frozen mixed berries and about half a bag of frozen strawberries. I made sure to thaw the frozen fruit completely, and then I placed it in a colander and rinsed it under cold water. I let the fruit sit in the colander and drain well, and then patted them with a few paper towels – to remove any excess moisture.

I messed up a little when I made the glaze though. I was supposed to only let the glaze “cool slightly” after I removed it from the stove top, but I got side-tracked and let it sit a little too long in the pan.
It ended up being really thick in the pan, and there was no way I could “spoon” it over the fruit. But, I just transferred the glaze to a bowl and put it in the microwave for a few seconds. It warmed the glaze up and made it a lot easier to spoon over the fruit. So be sure to only let your glaze cool only slightly. 🙂

~Enjoy~



Fruit Pizza

2 cups assorted fresh, canned or frozen fruit (for example – raspberries, blueberries, sliced strawberries)
If using canned fruit, drain well. If using frozen fruit, thaw, drain, and pat excess moisture with paper towel.

Crust
3/4 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup powdered sugar, sifted
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Filling
1 (8 ounce) package fat-free cream cheese
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Glaze
1/2 cup pineapple juice
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 packets True Lemon
1 tablespoon water

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour a 12-inch pizza pan.

For crust, in a medium bowl, beat butter with an electric mixer for 30 seconds. Add sugar and beat until well combined.
Gradually beat in flour until crumbly. Press dough evenly onto pizza pan. Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until golden brown.
Cool completely on wire rack.

For filling, in a medium bowl, beat cream cheese with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add sugar and vanilla extract; beat until smooth.
Spread cream cheese evenly over crust, to within 1/2 inch of edges. Arrange fruit over cream cheese mixture.

For glaze, in a small saucepan, combine pineapple juice, sugar, cornstarch, True Lemon packets and water.
Cook and stir over medium heat until thickened and bubbly. Cook and stir for an additional 2 minutes.
Cool slightly. Spoon glaze evenly over fruit.

Cover and chill in refrigerator for at least 1 hour before serving.

Make 12 servings.

5 Responses

  1. I really enjoy fruit and boy oh boy I am very taken with your Fruit Pizza. I would rather have this anyday to the regular kind! Did you say ignore the cream cheese layer lol I have one eye close viewing 😀

    Rosie x

  2. If we ignore the cream cheese layer does that mean less calories? But of course we get to eat the cream cheese right? Love fruit pizza especially when it has strawberries and kiwi.

  3. I love fruit pizzas! This looks really good, especially the pineapple glaze, yum!

  4. Looks so yummy. I love fruit pizza! I make it with a store-bought cookie crust, the lazy way! Your’s looks wonderful.
    Where do you live in AK? I live in Nikiski on the Kenai Pen. Glad to find your blog! 🙂

  5. Looks fantastic. I wonder how we could ignore the cream cheese layer with all its deliciousness. I think I may try this with some wild berries I gathered, vac packed, and froze. Yummy.

Leave a Reply

