Iditarod 37 Sled Dog Race

Today was the “ceremonial” start of the 37th running of the Iditarod Sled Dog Race. The actual race begins in Willow tomorrow, but today is a “fun” day for the mushers and crowds of people who gather downtown and throughout the city to watch the mushers race across town.

When I woke up this morning the temperature was only about 5 degrees, so I decided to watch the race on t.v. – from the comfort of my couch. Therefore, I unfortunately have no photos to share with you. 😦

However, if you would like to follow the race, there are several excellent websites that you can visit to catch up on all the action. These website have wonderful photos and videos, as well as up-to-date race standings.

The first website is one of our local t.v. stations – KTUU: http://www.ktuu.com/Global/category.asp?C=118724&nav=menu510_4_1

The second is our local newspaper, the Anchorage Daily News: http://www.adn.com/iditarod/

And, of course, there is the official Iditarod website located at: http://www.iditarod.com/

Lastly, if you would like to learn some of the history/background on the Iditarod Sled Dog Race, Wikipedia has some excellent information for you here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iditarod_Trail_Sled_Dog_Race

Enjoy your evening, and the rest of your weekend everyone!

5 Responses

  1. Wow! Wow! Wow! You have been very busy and creative! Your new page is really great! I have been waiting for mine for months and have not gotten it it. I think I just should have done some research on web designers before I signed up with the one I chose. You go girl!!!!! DCRose

  2. Sounds such fun Sled Dog Race!!

    Rosie x

  3. Hey You,
    I have something for you over at my blog so stop by and check it out!

    Delaney

  4. I am also enjoying the Iditarod. I signed up to be an “Ultimate Insider” at the Iditarod.com website and I am thankful that for the most part I have been able to access the GPS tracker and videos which are really awesome and make it great fun to follow this race, but there are some very upset and frustrated people in the forums over there who are not able to get what they paid for. Hopefully they will get it all worked out before long!

  5. I love sled dogs! I’m sorry I missed this!

Leave a Reply

