Black Raspberry Cream Cheese Swirled Brownies

I just love trying new things, so when I found Ener-G Egg Replacer in the natural foods section of my local grocery store, I just had to buy it.
I had read about Ener-G Egg Replacer on some of the vegan blogs that I visit, and it sounded like a great alternative to eggs.

Ener-G Egg Replacer mimics what eggs do in recipes, but is animal and dairy-free. For each egg called for in a recipe, you just mix 1-1/2 teaspoons of Ener-G Egg Replacer with 2 tablespoons of warm water, mix thoroughly, and add to batter/mixture.

This is my first recipe using this egg replacer, and I must say…it’s wonderful! I can’t tell that I used an egg replacer instead of real eggs. My brownies turned out really moist, and they taste delicious. I like to think that they’re probably a little bit healthier for me too. 🙂

~Enjoy~

Black Raspberry Cream Cheese Swirled Brownies

Brownie Batter

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
6 tablespoons baking cocoa
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup warm water
6 teaspoons Ener-G Egg Replacer
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Cream Cheese Batter

1 1/2 teaspoon Ener-G Egg Replacer
2 tablespoons warm water
1 (8 ounce) package fat-free cream cheese
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Seedless black raspberry preserves

Preheat oven to 350 degree. Grease and flour a 9 x 13 inch baking pan.

Prepare Brownie Batter as follows:

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking cocoa, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
Add the 6 teaspoons of Ener-G Egg Replacer to the 1/2 cup warm water; mix well.
In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Add egg mixture and vanilla extract; mix well. Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture. Mix thoroughly.
Spread batter into prepared pan.

Prepare Cream Cheese Batter as follows:

Combine Ener-G Egg Replacer with warm water. Stir until well combined.
Combine egg mixture, cream cheese, sugar, vanilla and flour. Mix well.

Drop cream cheese mixture by tablespoonfuls onto brownie batter. Drop teaspoonfuls of black raspberry preserves between cream cheese batter.

With knife, swirl everything together.

Bake for 35 – 40 minutes, or until the cream cheese batter begins to brown.

Cool completely on wire rack. Cut into squares.

8 Responses

  1. Those sound and look really good. But then I love all brownies.

  2. Wow! raspberries and chocolate together – two of my favorite flavors. I will definelty try this one. If I can find the egg replacer – I think it would be great to have on hand in my little wilderness cottage. Thanks for another great recipe Amy.

  3. raspberry and chocolate is a natural pairing,… but add cream cheese? Now you have me in a swoon wishing I had some with my morning coffee! Yum!

  4. Raspberry and chocolate for me is a match made in heaven, talking of which, your brownies are just sensational!! I am pleased you collected your awards and huge congrats, you are most deserving of all these awards :0)

    Rosie x

  5. I have not ever heard of the Ener-G stuff, but DH has to be on a very low cholesterol diet and so normally I use Egg Beater-type as replacement, but I’ll have to look into the Ener-G – thanks for testing it out for us! 😀

  6. Wow! very colorful and lovely. Different ingredient but looks yummy!

  7. What a great combo of flavors! They look scrumptious!!

  8. These brownies are pure decadence!

    Maria
    x

Leave a Reply

