Cherry Delight

One of the things I always try to have on hand in my pantry, are plenty of cans of different varieties of pie fillings. You just never know when you’re going to get the desire to bake a dessert with cherries, apples, blueberries, etc… and the fresh variety may not be readily available either in your home, or at your local grocery store.

This was the case today when I had a craving to make a cherry dessert. I scoured the fresh fruit section of my local grocery store this morning, but all they seemed to have were apples, oranges and bananas. There were no fresh, or frozen cherries at all. I was not to be deterred though. When I got home, I just reached into my pantry and my trusty can of cherry pie filling came to my rescue. 🙂

~Enjoy~

Cherry Delight

3/4 cup flaked coconut
3/4 cup Quick Quaker Oats
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 (21 ounce) can cherry pie filling

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease and flour a 9 x 9 inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, combine coconut, oats, sugar and flour.
With a pastry blender, cut in butter until well combined and crumbly.

Press two-thirds of the crumb mixture into bottom of baking pan. Bake for 10 minutes.

Remove pan from oven and spread pie filling over crust.
Sprinkle remaining crumb mixture over pie filling.

Bake for 35 – 40 minutes, or until golden brown.

Cool completely on wire rack. Cut into squares.

4 Responses

  1. Looks great, and I’ll bet a “plop” of whipped cream on top would set it off beautifully!

  2. That looks so yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. I love cherry pie – and this recipe looks like an easy and delicious way to satisfy my craving.
    Plus it has coconut! What more could anyone want. 🙂
    Thanks for another winning recipe Amy.

  4. This cherry delight looks such a treat Aka Mom! One my family would love to try out.

    Rosie x

Leave a Reply

