Double Chocolate Cream Cheese Cookies

Last week at my local grocery store, they had a sale on cake mixes – Buy 2 Get 3 Free!! Now, I try to make the majority of my cakes from scratch…but who can pass up a sale like that? Needless to say, I’m now very well stocked with cake mixes. 🙂

I decided to use one of my chocolate cake mixes in these Double Chocolate Cream Cheese Cookies. They turned out great! Very moist and chocolaty. 🙂

I think it would be fun experimenting with different cake mixes in this recipe, and creating different flavors of cookies. I have a spice cake mix among my various flavors, and I think it would also work very well in this recipe. Maybe add raisins in place of the chocolate chips. Mmmm…I might just give it a try very soon. 🙂

~Enjoy~

Double Chocolate Cream Cheese Cookies

1/4 cup butter, softened
1 (8 ounce) package fat-free cream cheese
2 egg whites
1 teaspoon vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 (18.25 ounce) package chocolate cake mix
1 cup Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate Baking Chips

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and cream cheese together. Blend in egg whites, oil, and vanilla extract. Gradually beat in the cake mix. (dough will be stiff)

Fold in chocolate chips.

Cover dough and chill for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease cookie sheets.

Drop dough by rounded spoonfuls onto prepared cookie sheets.

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes, or until firm.

Cool on wire racks. Makes approximately 36 cookies.

11 Responses

  1. I really like the feature you have of being able to “Print This Post”…. I wish i had a family to bake for every day now!

  2. Looks delicious & would be a g8 treat for chocolate lovers.

  3. Cedar: If you are interested in adding the “Print This Post” feature to your blog, the website Blogger Buster has a tutorial on how to do it. Here is the link to the tutorial: http://www.bloggerbuster.com/2008/05/how-to-print-your-blogger-posts.html
    (This is how I added it to my blog) 🙂

    Swapna: This is indeed a great treat for chocolate lovers…which I definitely am! 🙂

  4. What a great deal on cakes! I’m so glad cause now we get to see all the goodies you make from them. These look so thick and chocolaty, scrumptious!

  5. It’s funny, I was just thinking how I have several cake mixes and never use them anymore! I’ll have to try these 🙂

  6. Oh wow, what a sale you hit!!!! That is great. I would have stocked up also. This recipe looks absolutely fantastic. Ok, must push hubby to finish of the Lemon Blueberry Bread, the Truffles and the Lemon Poppyseed Pound cake..lol.

  7. great great cookies…they look moist.

  8. Delicious cookies and chocolate too, what could be better?

    Maria
    x

  9. These sound delicious. I love using cake mixes when I dont have the time to do my own. Ithink they taste wonderful and help us busy moms out! I’ll have to try this!

  10. Looks like the idea worked, they look delicious! 🙂

  11. They look really good for being that simple to make. But then, all your stuff looks so delicious.

Leave a Reply

