Strawberry Cream Pie Cupcakes

As winter drags on here in the far north, I find myself desiring to bake more “spring-like” treats. Maybe I’m just hoping that if I bake lighter treats that remind me of spring, using fresh fruits like strawberries, the sooner spring will arrive. Probably just wishful thinking though… 🙂

This recipe is sort of a modified Boston Cream Pie, but in cupcake form.
I love how cute these cupcakes look, and the fresh strawberries really bring out the flavor in these cupcakes and make them taste absolutely delicious.

~Enjoy~

Strawberry Cream Pie Cupcakes

Cupcakes

1 box yellow cake mix
1 1/4 cups water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
4 egg whites

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 24 cupcake tins, or line with 24 paper baking liners.

Blend cake mix, water, oil and egg whites in a large bowl until moistened. Beat with a mixer on medium speed for 2 minutes. Fill cupcake tins 2/3 full with batter.

Bake 19-23 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Cool completely on wire rack.

Filling

2 cups cold skim milk
1 package (1 ounce) Vanilla Jell-O Sugar-Free Fat-Free Instant Pudding and Pie Filling

In a small bowl, whisk milk and pudding mix for 2 minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes or until soft-set.

Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

8 ounces fat-free cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
3-3 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1/2 cup fresh strawberries, mashed and drained

Using an electric mixer, blend together the cream cheese and butter on low speed until combined, about 30 seconds.

Gradually add 3 cups of the powdered sugar and the mashed strawberries. Blend frosting on low speed until the sugar is incorporated, about 1 minute.

Increase mixer speed to medium and blend frosting until fluffy, 30-45 seconds more, adding up to 1/2 cup more sugar to make desired spreading consistency.

Additional sliced strawberries for garnish

Putting it all together

Using a serrated knife, cut each cupcake in half horizontally.

Spread 1 tablespoon of filling on each cupcake bottom. Sandwich with the cupcake top.

Frost top of cupcakes. Garnish with strawberry slices.

Store in refrigerator.

Makes 24 cupcakes.

13 Responses

  1. I would love those but Hubby doesn’t like creamy fillings. I think that when he gets home we are going to try making the truffles since we definitely agree on those.

  2. These look lovely, the cream cheese icing sounds good and easy as well. I am not familiar with the instant cake mixes or pudding filling, it is probably as easy to make a regular cupcake/fairy cake mix for the cakes. I have to look at your other recipes when I get time, the fudge sounds intriguing (on the labels) and I love the strawberry banana cream pie! Thanks for sharing all these lovely recipes! Hope you get some spring weather there soon!

  3. These are so pretty and such delicious flavors. The frosting sounds divine!!!

  4. Well Sis, the truffles were such a hit in this house I simply must try this recipe. I have a bunch of strawberries to use up. By the time Spring does roll around up here, I, too, will be rolling around..lol. To the kitchen I go 🙂

  5. These are adorable and I love the pinkness of the frosting!

    Maria
    x

  6. Umm those look so cute and yummy all at the same time. I am definitly making these. I love cake mix recipes.

  7. I just started checked out this blog and I already love it! I’m excited to try out these cupcakes because my boyfriend and I are HUGE strawberry fans. And trust me, I totally agree about the long winter thing. It’s cold and rainy in South Jersey still!

  8. Like all your other recipes these, too, look very tasty ! It’s odd to think of Strawberries as Spring fruit, as here in Africa they are Winter fruit, typically appearing on our shelves in July which is the heart of our Winter here !

  9. Those look so dainty and delectable, makes me wishing it was strawberry season, they’re pretty expensive this time of year, but maybe I’ll splurge! 🙂

  10. wow! very creative…. just love this..

  11. These look so pretty, feminine,, light and airy. I love the oink frosting. And it doesnt sound that hard to make. Thanks for sharing!

  12. What a fun and cute idea! I can taste the strawberries just by looking at the picture :).

  13. Hi, I printed out this recipe, I am looking forward to trying it tomorrow!! WOOHOO!!

    Come by and visit my island blog!
    http://www.taotaotasi.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

