Peaches and Cream Pound Cake

My better half just loves peaches, so he was delighted when I told him that I was going to make a Peaches and Cream Pound Cake to have after our Sunday dinner tonight.

I filled the cake with as many freshly diced peaches as I thought it could hold – 4 cups – and I must say, it turned out wonderful. I decided to ignore the scale today and topped off the cake with the Peach Drizzle. I’m glad I did. It was really yummy! 🙂

I did use the 1/3 less fat cream cheese in this cake, so hopefully my scale won’t groan too much when I step on it tomorrow. 🙂

~Enjoy~

Peaches and Cream Pound Cake

2 1/2 cups cake flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup Lucerne Best of the Egg, Egg Beaters, or other egg substitute (or 3 eggs)
1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 cups peeled and chopped (1/2-inch pieces) fresh peaches

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 10-inch fluted tube pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add egg substitute and beat well.

Beat in cream cheese and vanilla extract until well combined.

Gradually add flour mixture to creamed mixture; mix well. Stir in peaches.

Pour into prepared pan and bake for 60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Drizzle cooled cake with Peach Drizzle, if desired.

Peach Drizzle

1 cup powdered sugar
1 – 2 tablespoons peach juice (I used Kern’s Peach Nectar)

Combine all ingredients and mix until smooth. Drizzle over cooled cake.

Peaches and Cream Pound Cake on Foodista

17 Responses

  1. My Hubby says he will be right over and Tyson can’t have anymore…lol.

  2. I’ll let him know that he can’t have anymore, Doofy – but he sure will be disappointed. 🙂

  3. I can’t wait to try this. I love peaches in cake!

  4. This sounds really delicious – I love peaches too!

  5. sounds delicious!!

  6. WOW…those look insanely gorgeous!

  7. This looks so good!! Moist and sweet and loaded with peaches, yummy!

  8. That looks so yummy that I am going to have to try this. Question – if I can’t find fresh peaches (very seasonal here on fruits) could I use canned peaches as long as I don’t use the ones in syrup and drain them well??

  9. I think you made the right decision to go for it with the “drizzle”, and c’mon, how many calories could a little “drizzle” add anyway?? 😛

  10. Thanks for your wonderful comments everyone!
    This cake was a big success and, I’m sad to say, is almost completely gone.

    Carole – I think I made the right decision as well. 🙂

    Delaney – I’ve only used fresh peaches in this recipe, but I believe canned peaches would work as well. You would want to use the peaches canned in their own juice, not syrup, and you would need to drain them well and then blot the peaches dry with a paper towel to remove excess moisture.
    I believe frozen peaches would also work. You would need to thaw the frozen peaches completely, then drain and blot dry with a paper towel before adding them to the recipe.
    I hope this helps! 🙂

  11. That really looks delicious – peaches & cream are such a wonderful combination. We can't buy peaches here in Tanzania, only tinned/canned but I find they still work well when baked into pies & cakes etc.

  12. Great minds think alike! I made a peach and bittersweet chocolate cake two nights ago. I’m making a mental note to try yours next 🙂 Thanks.

  13. it looks very very delicious! i will surely try this one. Thank u for posting!

  14. That cake brings images of a warm summer day to mind! I could go for a slice of that cake on a cold day today, it looks perfect; 4 cups of peaches sounds good to me :).

  15. Oh wow this looks gorgeous!

  16. WOW…this looks gorgeous!

    Rosie x

  17. […] Poppy Seed Cake from Alice Q. Foodie, Oreo Cookies and Cream Cupcakes from alpineberry, Peaches and Cream Pound CakeVanilla Custard Tart with Coconut Macaroon Crust from At Home in Alaska, from Bake-a-holic, […]

Leave a Reply

