Apple Honey Upside Down Cake

I found this Apple Honey Upside Down Cake recipe on the Cooks.com website. It sounded like a delicious alternative to a Pineapple Upside Down Cake, and I just had to try it. I’m sure glad I did! This cake will definitely make a nice addition to my Sunday night dinner.

The version on the Cooks.com website calls for 1 teaspoon of Pumpkin Pie Spice. I used Apple Pie Spice instead, because it seemed like the right thing to do. 🙂 I also used whole Maraschino Cherries in the center of the apple slices. In addition, I used an 8 x 8 inch baking pan to bake this cake in, rather than an iron skillet.

Of course, it is the cooks prerogative to taste their creations before serving it to their families…so I had a taste of this cake after it came out of the oven and cooled a bit. The bite I had was wonderfully moist and absolutely delicious! I can’t wait to have a whole slice after dinner tonight. 🙂

~Enjoy~

Apple Honey Upside Down Cake

2 tbsp. butter
1/2 c. firmly packed brown sugar
1 lg. cooking apples, peeled, cored, and cut into 1/2 inch rings
4 cherries drained and halved – (I used Maraschino Cherries)
1/2 c. butter, soft
Whipped cream, optional
3/4 c. honey
1 egg, beaten
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 c. buttermilk
1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice – (I used Apple Pie Spice)

Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a 9 inch cast iron skillet. – (I used an 8 x 8 inch baking pan)

Spread brown sugar evenly over butter. Arrange apple rings on top of sugar. Place cherry half in center of each apple ring. Set aside.

Cream 1/2 cup butter and honey; beat until smooth. Add eggs, mix well.

Dissolve soda in buttermilk. Combine flour, baking powder, and pumpkin pie spice; add to cream mixture alternately with buttermilk mixture begin and end with flour mixture. Beat well after each addition.

Spoon batter evenly over apple ring in skillet. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until wooden pick insert in center comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes and carefully invert cake onto serving plate. Serve warm with whipped cream. One 9 inch cake.

9 Responses

  1. We really love pineapple upside cake here. I make it several times a year even though I shouldn’t ensourage my husband to eat sweets. I can’t wait to try this version with apples instead. I think the honey and brown sugar is a better choice for him.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate the visit and the comment.

  2. Can’t wait to try this one Sis! It looks positively delicious!!!!!

  3. Thats one gorgeous cake! Beautiful clolors.

  4. This cake looks wonderful! I’m definitely putting it on my to do list. Thanks!

  5. What a great play on the upside down cake. I think I like this much better than the pineapple one, yum!!!

  6. This sounds delicious and one your Dad will love. Thanks Amy . . . now where’s my apron?

  7. My family love pineapple upside cake and your version looks wonderful a must try!!

    Rosie x

  8. I love this retro cake!

    Maria
    x

  9. Yumm, looks so delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

