More Spritz Christmas Cookies

I decided to practice a little more with my cookie press today. I think I’m getting better, but I think I still have a long way to go before they come out perfect. If anyone has any advice on the proper use of a cookie press, I’d love to hear it. 🙂

For this batch of cookies, I decided to use a recipe that I came across on the Better Homes and Gardens website. Their recipe for Spritz Blossoms sounded pretty good, so I thought I would give it a try.

~Enjoy~

Spritz Blossoms

1-1/2 cups butter, softened
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
3-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 recipe Powdered Sugar Icing
Coarse sugar; silver dragees

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In large bowl beat butter on medium to high speed 30 seconds. Add brown sugar and baking powder; beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl. Beat in egg, vanilla, and extract until combined. Beat in as much flour as you can; stir in remaining flour.

2. Push dough through cookie press onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 7 to 9 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

3. Brush with Powdered Sugar Icing; sprinkle with sugar. Place a dragee in center. Dry 30 minutes on waxed paper. Makes 80 cookies.

4. Store in airtight container in single layer at room temperature up to 3 days. Freeze up to 3 months.

One Response

  1. It looks like your doing a great job with it. Those are gorgeous, so colorful!

Leave a Reply

