Spritz Christmas Tree Cookies

While shopping for groceries at my local grocery store, I found a cookie press on sale for $5.00.

I’ve never owned a cookie press before, but for that price, I just couldn’t pass it up.

I thought for my first practice run, I would make some Spritz Christmas Trees.
Some of them came out a little misshapen, but I think they still look rather cute. 🙂

Hopefully, with a little more practice, I’ll get better. 🙂

~Enjoy~

Spritz Christmas Tree Cookies

1 1/4 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg yolk, beaten
food coloring
1 egg white
colored sugar or other cookie decorations

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine flour and salt. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Add vanilla and egg yolk.

Gradually add flour mixture to butter mixture. Mix well.

Add a few drops of food coloring until desired color is reached.

Put dough into cookie press. Press shapes out onto ungreased cookie sheet. Brush with egg white and sprinkle with colored sugar or other cookie decorations.

Bake for 6-8 minutes or until lightly browned.

4 Responses

  1. Very cute~

  2. This brings back such memories. My Mom used to have one of these. I remember the colored spritz cookies! There so fun to use!

  3. We had a cookie press just like that but it was electric – but the only way it worked well was if you didn’t let up on the trigger until it was empty – my brother and I would stand next to my Dad as he shot the cookies onto the tray, then when the tray was finished, one of us would grab the tray of cookies and the other of us would throw a new pan in front of Dad so he could keep his “rhythm” going. It was like “speed cookie-making”!

  4. I love spritz but I have such a hard time with the cookie press! I shouldn’t have – its Pampered Chef, but I DO!

Leave a Reply

