Lemon Poppy Seed Yogurt Cake

I always try to keep packets of True Lemon in my pantry. They are so convenient and easy to use. Plus they add a great lemon flavor to my recipes.

This cake is moist and delicious and pretty easy to make. It’s a wonderful after dinner dessert and goes well with a fresh cup of coffee.

~Enjoy~

Lemon Poppy Seed Yogurt Cake

Cake

1 1/3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 sticks of butter, room temperature
1 1/3 cups sugar
2/3 cup Lucerne Best of the Egg Whites – 100% Liquid Egg White, or other egg white substitute
4 packets True Lemon
1 cup fat-free plain yogurt
2 tablespoons poppy seed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 12-cup bundt pan.

In a medium bowl, stir together flour, baking powder and baking soda. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until fluffy. Gradually add egg white substitute and beat until well combined. Stir in packets of True Lemon and yogurt. Mix well.

Add dry ingredients to batter and stir until well combined. Gently fold in poppy seeds.

Pour batter into prepared bundt pan and bake for 50 mintues, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool for 15 minutes then invert onto wire rack. Cool completely.

Drizzle with Lemon Glaze, if desired.

Lemon Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
3 packets True Lemon
1 1/2 tablespoons water

Mix all ingredients together in small bowl. Pour over cooled cake.

11 Responses

  1. Awesome. I don’t have half the ingredients with me at the moment, so will have to make this beauty. Poppy seeds are a great touch

  2. That looks soooo yummy! I just have one question…how do you bake as much as you do? OK, two questions…how do you bake so often and not be super heavy?? I look at this sort of stuff and put on 10lbs. !!! But I love it..

  3. I hope you get a chance to make this Anudivya. I found poppy seeds on sale at our local grocery store, and knew I had to make something special with them. I think this cake was a great way to put them to use. 🙂

  4. Hi Delaney!
    I love your questions. 🙂 I think I bake as much as I do because my Mom baked a lot when I was a kid…and the house was always filled with such wonderful aromas. I enjoyed that part of childhood so much that I wanted to share it with my own kids and hopefully inspire them to keep the tradition and pass it on to their children. I’m not sure how I find the time though. I guess I just enjoy baking so much that whenever I find a few available minutes, I just start pulling out ingredients and whip something up.

    As to why I’m not super heavy…I think it’s because I try to use low-fat ingredients in my recipes, if possible. I also work out on my Wii Fit 30 minutes a day. 🙂

  5. Looks so tasty.

  6. This is such a pretty cake. It’s really eye-catching. I’m not familiar with True Lemon, but I’ll have to check it out.

  7. Wow this looks so good!

    Maria
    x

  8. I would like to try this recipe for T-giving but would like to use real lemons instead of True Lemon. Any idea how many lemons I should use? Thanks.

  9. I would like to try this recipe for T-giving but would like to use real lemons instead of True Lemon. Any idea how lemons I should be using? Thanks.

  10. Thriftymrs, Sandy, Maria: Thank you so much for your comments! I really like how this cake turned out, and I’m glad you did too. 🙂

  11. Grace: I’m glad you’re thinking of making this for Thanksgiving. It really is a delicious cake.
    If you are using real lemons in this recipe, then you will want to use 2 tablespoons of lemon juice for the cake and 1 tablespoon for the glaze – in place of the True Lemon. You will also want to reduce the water for the glaze from 1 1/2 tablespoons to just 1 tablespoon.
    Have a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

