Lemon Bars

Summer is coming to a close and the leaves on the birch trees are beginning to turn yellow here in the far north. I decided I wanted to bake a summer treat today, in an effort to hang on to summer as long as I can. What sprang quickly to mind was Lemon Bars.

As I looked through my pantry, I discovered that I was completely out of lemon juice. However, I had a box of True Lemon Crystallized Lemon packets that I use in my water bottles to add a little flavor to the water. It says on the box that you can use the packets in recipes as well, so I thought I would give it a try.

The Lemon Bars came out beautifully and my family loves them. I like the fact that by using the True Lemon Crystallized Lemon packets, I could adjust the lemon flavor by either increasing or decreasing the amount of packets that I use. If I wanted a stronger lemon flavor, I could add more packets…and visa versa.

~Enjoy~

Crust:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 sticks butter, at room temperature

Filling:
1 cup Lucerne Best of the Egg, Egg Beaters, or other similar egg substitute
2 cups granulated sugar
6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
12 packets True Lemon Crystallized Lemon Substitute
6 tablespoons water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9 by 13 by 2-inch pan.

For crust: combine the flour, confectioners’ sugar, and salt in a large bowl. Cut in the butter until the mixture is crumbly. Press the mixture into the prepared pan. Tip: I use the back of a large spoon to press the mixture firmly down into the pan.
Bake for 20 minutes.

For filling: dissolve the True Lemon Crystallized Lemon Substitute packets in the 6 tablespoons of water. Mix the egg substitute, granulated sugar, flour, and lemon juice together. Pour this over the baked crust and bake for 25 minutes longer. After the bars have cooled, sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar. (if desired)

Leave a Reply

