Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars

It turns out that you can teach an old dog new tricks! I had the pleasure of turning 50 years old last month, and although I’m no longer a spring chicken, I discovered that I’m still capable of learning new things from my Mom.

Up until just recently, I didn’t know that you could freeze bananas whole, still in the banana peel, and use them in recipes later. My mother informed me of this nifty trick, and I had to give it a try. I decided to use my previously frozen, and then thawed, bananas in these Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars, and I must say, they turned out great!

Although the bananas didn’t look very pretty after they had been removed from the freezer and thawed…

Bananas - frozen and then thawed

Bananas – frozen and then thawed

…they worked beautifully in this recipe. I’ve had these bananas in the freezer for at least two months, and the banana flavor did not diminish one bit while they were in there.

I was hoping to take these bars with me on a short hiking trip this weekend, but since it’s currently snowing out and only 27 degrees, I guess I’ll just have to feast on them here at home.

~Enjoy~

AK Mom


Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 packets Cinnamon & Spice Lower Sugar Instant Oatmeal (can substitute 3/4 cup instant or quick oats – regular flavor, or any flavor you desire)
2 packets Apples & Cinnamon Lower Sugar Instant Oatmeal (can substitute 3/4 cup instant or quick oats – regular flavor, or any flavor you desire)
2 cups all-purpose flour
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1 (10 ounce) package Simple Truth Organic Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (or any semi-sweet chocolate chips)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two 8-inch square baking pans.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the brown sugar and butter together. Mix in eggs and vanilla.

Add the oatmeal, flour, and bananas; mix until well combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Divide and spread batter evenly in prepared baking pans.

Bake for 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove from oven and place pans on wire rack to cool. Cut into squares.

Makes 32 bars.

(To print this recipe, click on the ‘Print & PDF’ button below)

6 Responses

  1. That trick of freezing bananas is pretty neat — we’ll have to get that a try. I wish I could try one of those bars as well.

    • It is a pretty neat trick, George. It’s great to know that I can toss bananas in the freezer and have them on hand whenever a recipe calls for them. :)

  2. Congratulations for your prestigeous nomination!

  3. I peel the bananas before freezing in ziplocs and that seems to make them easier to deal with when I thaw them.

  4. Hi It is so good to hear from you.

    Were enjoying your pictures from Alaska.

    Have a Great Summer!

    Mary

Leave a Reply

