Spiced Spritz Cookies

Spiced Spritz Cookies

Spiced Spritz Cookies

I have got a busy cookie baking weekend ahead of me, and I’m starting it all off with these Spiced Spritz Cookies – Christmas Cookie #3. Now I ask that you please try not to laugh too hard at my spritz cookies; I’m not very skilled with a cookie press. Just kidding. Feel free to go ahead and laugh… I did. :)

I love spritz cookies, but I sometimes find that they can be a little lacking in flavor. This recipe includes ground cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves, which adds tons of flavor to the cookies.

Later on today, I’ll be baking up a big batch of Eggnog Snickerdoodles (Christmas Cookie #4) for the annual office cookie exchange on Monday. Of course, I’ll have to be sure to make extra to add to my own Christmas cookie platter, or my family will never let me hear the end of it. (They are one of my family’s favorite holiday cookies)

If you’d like to view the recipe for the Eggnog Snickerdoodles, you can find it here.

Well, I think it’s about time for me to head on back into the kitchen.

Tis the season to be busy, fa la la la la, la la la la.

~Enjoy~
signature


Spiced Spritz Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1 egg
1 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

With an electric mixer, beat butter, egg, powdered sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves and vanilla until light and fluffy. Gradually add flour, mixing until blended.

If desired, divide dough into sections and color each section with food coloring. (one section could be green, one red, etc…)

Push dough through cookie press onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake for 7 to 9 minutes, or until cookies are set.

Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool.

Makes approximately 48 cookies.

4 Responses

  1. These sound and look fantastic. I love the flavors in them :)

  2. My mother used to make cookies like this.

Leave a Reply

