Peanut Butter Chewy Brownies

Peanut Butter Chewy Brownies

Peanut Butter Chewy Brownies

Hi Everyone! Sorry I’ve been absent for awhile, but I was feeling under the weather a couple weeks ago, and during that time I started reading a really good book. It turned out that it was the first book of a trilogy, and the story was so good that I couldn’t stop reading until I finished the whole series.

So, let me catch you up on what’s been happening here the last couple of weeks. It snowed, then the snow melted. It snowed again, then melted again. Then it got really, really cold. (It’s currently 14 degrees as I sit writing this) Oh, yes… and I made these delicious Peanut Butter Chewy Brownies – Twice! I made one batch earlier this week for my family, and I made a second batch for a potluck at work yesterday.

This recipe comes from the Spring 2012 “Penzeys Spices” catalog. If you haven’t heard of Penzeys, I encourage you to check them out. They have a very wide variety of spices at very reasonable prices. (hey, that rhymed) Their free catalog also includes mouth-watering recipes, like these brownies. My mom clued me in to this catalog, and I’m very grateful that she did. It’s one of my favorites. Thanks, Mom!!

~Enjoy~




Peanut Butter Chewy Brownies
(recipe from Penzeys Spice catalog)

1/2 cup peanut butter
1/3 cup softened butter
2/3 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup chocolate chips for topping

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×9 or 8×8 pan.

In a medium bowl, cream together the peanut butter and butter. Gradually blend in the white sugar, brown sugar, egg and vanilla; mix until light and fluffy.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir into the peanut butter mix. Fold in 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips until they are spread throughout. Spread into the pan and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 25-35 minutes, depending on the type of pan used; a toothpick should come out clean.

Remove from oven, sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips. Allow to cool completely before cutting into squares.

Serves: 16

14 Responses

  1. This looks so scrumptious. I love peanut butter brownies. Especially when they are chewy!

    Wow, you had snow! I am so envious! I miss baking and cooking while it is snowing.

  2. So what was the book that you are reading – always looking for a good book to read!

    • It was the Fifty Shades trilogy by E.L. James. Definitely a “for mature audiences only” type of book series, but I found the character development and story to be enjoyable.

  3. So glad your feeling better. :) Your Brownie recipe sounds delicious, and I will definitely make it after I finish two more pieces of banana creme pie. Thanks for the info on the book trilogy. I hope they have it for our electronic readers. Oh – BTW – I am just about ready to make another Penzeys order. Their spices are so fresh, the bottles are always filled to the tippy-top, and the prices are soooo reasonable. You just can’t beat them. Stay warm and well. Mom :) :)

    • I just got the new Penzeys catalog in the mail today, Mom. I wish I could order one of everything. :)
      You might have to avert your eyes on some of the pages if you decide to read the trilogy. It’s a bit racy. (you’ve been warned) ;)
      I hope you stay warm and well too, Mom!!

  4. These look so yummy! Love the peanut butter and chocolate combo.

  5. You have my permission to keep your snow up there for a while. These brownies look delicious.

  6. YUM! i stublmed across this via pinterest and was definitely intrigued when i saw a note that it was from an Alaskan’s blog!
    I just moved out of Alaska last year, born and raised in Fairbanks/North Pole :)

    • Welcome, Andrea! I’ve only been to Fairbanks a couple of times, but I hear it can get extremely cold there in the Winter. I read your story about your move from Alaska. Sounds like you had a very interesting journey. ;) Glad you made it to your new home safely. :)

  7. My daughter gives me Penzeys spices each Xmas, depending on what cooking phase I am in! Last Xmas, Asian spices, year before Mexican, year before that Italian….hmmmm whats left for this year I wonder!
    These peanut brownies look yummy and I love Alaska! Been there a bunch of times, but never in the winter. Look forward to following your blog.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment on my blog, Cindy!! I’m glad you’ve had the chance to visit Alaska. It is a very beautiful place to be during the Summer, but it can get pretty chilly during the Winter. :)

Leave a Reply

