Skillet Pumpkin Cornbread

Skillet Pumpkin Cornbread

Skillet Pumpkin Cornbread

It turned out that the wind storm we had this past weekend wasn’t quite as bad as the previous wind storm. There was one big wind gust that was recorded to be 120 miles per hour, but for the most part, the wind wasn’t too bad. The rain however, that’s a different story. It rained so hard and for so long, that some small streams overflowed their banks, and some roads in town were flooded and impassable. I was hoping that the weather would calm down for a few days so we would have a chance to dry out, but the weather forecasters are predicting another big wind storm to hit our area this evening, and bring more heavy rain with it. If this is the way our Fall season is going to be, I can’t wait to see what Winter has in store for us.

Since the weather has been so cold, rainy, and windy lately, I decided to make one of my favorite cold weather dinners – Chili!! And I couldn’t think of a better side dish to pair with a steaming bowl of chili than cornbread. I didn’t want to make just your average, ordinary cornbread though, so I made Skillet Pumpkin Cornbread!! I find that regular cornbread can be dry and crumbly sometimes, but when you add some pumpkin puree into the mix, it brings the moisture level way up. This cornbread is very light and moist, and the pumpkin flavor goes surprisingly well with chili.

I’d better be sure to stock my pantry with plenty of cans of pumpkin, because with the weather we’ve been having lately, I think I’ll be making a lot of chili and cornbread for dinner.

~Enjoy~




Skillet Pumpkin Cornbread

1 1/2 cups yellow corn meal
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 1/2 cups milk
1/2 cup canola oil
2 large eggs, slightly beaten
3/4 cup pumpkin puree

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a 12-inch cast iron skillet, or make sure skillet is well-seasoned.

In a large bowl, combine corn meal, flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and pumpkin pie spice. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine milk, oil, eggs and pumpkin puree. Whisk until well combined. Add mixture to dry ingredients and stir just until blended. Pour batter into prepared skillet.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Serve warm.

Skillet Pumpkin Cornbread

Skillet Pumpkin Cornbread

9 Responses

  1. The chili and pumpkin cornbread both look delicious! I love the ease of the skillet. I have bookmarked this to definitely make; yummy!

  2. Interesting Ingredients! Ann

  3. Skillet pumpkin cornbread?! Say what?! Fate must have led me to your blog, because I was just given a cast iron cornbread skillet as a gift. I think I just found my first test recipe. :-)

  4. Ooooooh! Skillet pumpkin cornbread? Three of my favorite words together! Fantastic idea. Thanks so much for sharing. Thanksgiving recipe for sure!

Leave a Reply

