Moist Delicious Banana Bread

Banana Bread

Banana Bread

Banana Bread

Banana Bread

At the same time that I found the plump, juicy organic blackberries that I used in the Blackberry Cobbler earlier this week, I also found some beautiful looking organic bananas. My first thought was that the bananas would be great to pack for lunch and snack on at work, but when I arrived home with them, I was soon to discover that my family had other plans. One of the very first questions that I was asked was, “Are you going to make Banana Bread with some of those??”. It’s hard to turn down a request like that, so as soon as we polished off the Blackberry Cobbler, I got to work making a loaf of Moist Delicious Banana Bread.

Now I’ve baked and eaten a lot of banana bread in my lifetime, and this banana bread has to be right up there among some of the very best I’ve ever had. Moist and delicious are the perfect adjectives to describe this bread. The bananas and canola oil are two of the ingredients that help make it moist, but I think the applesauce adds a greater moisture content that really makes this bread soft and delicious.

Enjoyed warm or cold, with a pat of butter or plain, this banana bread is a wonderful treat to snack on any time of the day.

~Enjoy~




Banana Bread

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup mashed banana (approx. 2 medium bananas)
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup applesauce
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla butter & nut extract

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour a 9-inch x 5-inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugars, baking soda and salt; set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine eggs, banana, oil, applesauce, milk and vanilla butter & nut extract. Add to flour mixture, stirring just until combined. Pour batter into loaf pan.

Bake for 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool bread in pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Remove bread from pan and cool completely on wire rack.

Yield: 1 loaf.

11 Responses

  1. I’ve never tried a banana bread recipe with applesauce before. It looks great! Thanks for sharing :)

  2. This does indeed look moist and delicious. What is “vanilla butter & nut extract”?

    • It’s basically a vanilla extract with added flavors of butter and almond. I found a bottle of the extract in our local grocery store, and I really like the flavor. You can use vanilla extract instead though, if you don’t have or can’t find the vanilla butter & nut extract.
      Thanks for visiting!! :)

  3. I will try to do this one! Delicious!

  4. I love banana bread but mine doesn’t always turn out…..I don’t bake it long enough :(

  5. I love banana bread and this looks absolutely delicious. My mouth is watering just looking at the pictures.

  6. AK Mom – I made your recipe, and it is the best – (and I’ve been baking quick bread recipes for 58 years!) It will be my “go to” banana bread recipe from now on. ;) It is moist, and has the most wonderful flavor. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

