Nesting Magpies

Magpie nest

Magpie nest

Look what I discovered in one of the trees outside my bedroom window – a pair of Magpies are building a nest. As you can see from the above photo, they’ve already collected quite a few twigs for their nest.

They’ve been spending a great deal of time pulling twigs out of the pile and tucking them into the nest they’re putting together on the back side of the tree.

Of course, they weren’t too thrilled when my kitty cat decided to sit in the window and watch them work.

Kitty watching Magpie

Kitty watching Magpie

The Magpies squawked at my kitty until she finally jumped down from the window and left the room.

Can’t wait to see how kitty cat reacts when the babies arrive. :)

~Enjoy~

8 Responses

  1. Beautiful shots! What great photo-ops your going to have. I can’t wait to see what you post.

    • Thanks, Mom!! They’ve been very busy today, flying back and forth bringing more and more twigs to the tree for their nest. :)

  2. It was nice of the magpies to build their nest where you (and Kitty) could keep an eye on the action.

  3. They build really big nests too. Several years ago there was a nest just up the road from me and it was really interesting to see them when the young emerged.

    • I didn’t know that they built really big nests, but from the amount of twigs they’ve been collecting for the past several days, I do believe it. :)

  4. Oh, I have not seen magpie’s nest, not even when I was young and spent hours and hours in the woods. Nice photos.

  5. [...] in May, I posted some photos of a pair of Magpies building a nest in a tree outside one of my windows. I’m very happy to [...]

Leave a Reply

