Chewy Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

Chewy Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

Chewy Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

Sorry I’ve been a bit scarce lately, but we’ve been having absolutely beautiful weather here, and I’ve been busy getting things cleaned up outside, and also getting my flower and vegetable seeds planted. It’s still too cold to plant outdoors, so I have to start my plants indoors and then transfer them outside when the threat of frost has passed. I already have little lettuce sprouts poking up out of the soil, which is so exciting.

Since I’ve been busy with other things and haven’t baked in a while, I decided to turn the oven on and make these wonderful Chewy Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars. Wow, that’s a long title. They should be named, Everything But The Kitchen Sink Bars… because that’s pretty much what they are.

The bottom crust of the bars are crisp and light, and the filling is soft, chewy, and packed with coconut, peanut butter and chocolate. They are utterly irresistible and I should know… I’ve already eaten way more than my share. :)

~Enjoy~




Chewy Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

Crust:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup cold butter

Filling:
2 eggs
1/2 cup corn syrup
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter, creamy or crunchy
1/2 cup flaked coconut
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup peanut butter chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 13 x 9-inch baking pan.

For the crust: in a medium bowl, combine the flour and sugar; cut in the butter with a pastry blender until the mixture is crumbly. Press mixture into prepared baking pan. Bake for 14-16 minutes, or until lightly browned.

For the filling: in a large bowl, beat the eggs, corn syrup, sugar and peanut butter until smooth. Fold in the coconut, chocolate chips, and peanut butter chips. Pour over crust. Return to the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until golden.

Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack. Cut into bars.

16 Responses

  1. I am so trying to not eat any junk food and then I will see your posts and I think what the heck….LOL!

  2. I’m glad the weather is nicer. I love reading your recipes and posts! By the way, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award :) http://thisbountifulbackyard.com/2012/04/25/versatile-blogger-award/

  3. This really looks delicious. Almost like a candy bar! ;)
    I’ll be right down. *LOL Thanks for the recipe Alskamom.

  4. My, does that look good! If I were to eat everything you feature in your blog, I would not have to worry about Grizzly bears: I would be much larger than they!

  5. Oh! No, I don’t think I would be able to resist these bars.I’m not sure I can get peanut butter chips, I’ll have to look around for them!A great sweetie! x

  6. Oh I soooo can not wait to make these!!! Like today! Like asap! I think I need them for lunch!! Not with lunch mind you but FOR lunch!! :)

  7. Normally I’m not much of a fan of peanut butter, but I think I could really go for these bars. They sound yummy!

  8. [...] usual, Alaska Mom made a beautiful new treat this week, Chewy Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars. He recipe titles are even longer than mine! And you knew I was going to feature this bar recipe [...]

Leave a Reply

